Surviving The Unexpected : Your Backup Kits for Gigs and Touring

Sleestak

Power User
Over in the AxeFX Discussion area, we are having a chat about on-stage disaster recovery in case of gear failure. I posted something over there about this, outlining my use of the Line6 M9 as my emergency backup, but I wanted to start a thread here in the Lounge about general planning for touring musicians.

My full tour-disaster mitigation plan, as copied from my blog :
Surviving The Unexpected : Your Backup Kits For Gigs And Touring ↠John Hendow

Playing gigs with a band is really all about the music… except when it’s not. As a professional musician of 30+ years, I am something of a road warrior and have done a lot of successful touring with my bands. As a professional Project Manager, I can tell you there are a number of things you should have with you to help mitigate risk and let you to focus on the music. In this post, I will outline the contents of three handy road kits and describe where they should be stored. With only a few exceptions (spare guitar and spare amp) these are not expensive items and you can probably pick up everything in a single stop at a department store.

KIT #1 : For Onstage Emergencies

These are things to have within reach while you’re playing. Everything other than the first item should be in a small, well-organized bag near the stage. I’m partial to “alice” (military surplus) bags, but you can find plenty of options that have small interior pockets to carry the following items:

Spare Guitar : Someday your primary guitar will have some kind of issue… you’ll break a string, have a sudden wiring problem, or heaven forbid something worse… put your spare guitar on a stand next to your main guitar and tune them both before starting your set. Test your backup guitar during soundcheck to make sure it’s ready to go.
LED Flashlight : Get a decent, reliable LED flashlight. This should be right at the top of the bag in case you need it.