Surface Pro

slinky005

Power User
Looking at getting an older version (Suface Pro 3) to incorporate into my setup.
Currently I use an Asus Transformer Book.
I trigger samples from my foot pedal and the audio goes through my Axe all using the Axe as my audio / midi interface.

I'm pretty good at troubleshooting but I'm totally stumped.
It was working fine until I went a rehearsal and samples would not trigger.
Brought it home and it worked perfectly.
All this to say I'm ready to move up to a more Pro tablet.
This one is miles ahead of the Asus (which worked perfectly specs-wise) in terms of power and specs.
Found a very good deal at Bestbuy for a refurbished one.
I typically always buy new - wondering if it's still a good way to go for this type of electronic.

Has anyone used a Surface for music to any success?

I have been using a Surface Pro 3 for two years, but not for music... so my reply may not be all that useful to you.

I absolutely adore the form factor, the fast booting, and the performance. It resulted in my hyper-high-end laptop sitting in the corner and gathering dust. I traveled with it to Asia and it has served me incredibly well.

However, about two months ago, the "surface type cover" keyboard stopped working. I went to buy a replacement cover/keyboard but it also didn't work (though it was brand new). In short, the Surface Pro's keyboard interface (or some other internal thing) failed. My Surface Pro is now reduced to tablet-mode only, and I cannot make any use of that (my intended use was and continues to be to use it as an ultra-portable full-fledged laptop).

I miss it sorely. One day, I may be tempted to get another one... but I worry that the failed keyboard will happen again, essentially turning my Surface into a brick. A google search shows that it's a frequent problem.

Just thought I'd share that...

I have been using a Surface Pro 3 for two years, but not for music... so my reply may not be all that useful to you.