Suggestions to improve this tone. Any advice appreciated (Sweep/Cafo tone)

Hi everyone,

I have been reading a lot of posts about getting tight bass sound and about recording on this forum. It has been really helpful and just wanted to thanks everyone for their input.

Now onto the issue at hand, I am trying to record with my Axe XL+/ Logic x and output going to my Blackstar amp.

1)The cafo patch and clip is provided. Sorry for my sloppy cafo sweep but I feel like the bass is still muddy in the sweeps. How should I make it better?

2)The other clip is a general sweeping tone, I am looking for a malmsteen/ tosin abasi in between sweep tone.

Both the presets are provided along with soundclips.
What do you guys think about the tones? Please free to give honest opinion cause I am just a noob. Thank you.

Attachments

• Sweeping only.syx
    12.6 KB · Views: 7
  • cafo .syx
    12.6 KB · Views: 6
I would start by using less distortion. Very difficult to get clarity with this much drive.
Use as little as you can and try different types. Perhaps a drive block that is somewhat transparent w a fairly clean amp block.
Experiment with high preamp distortion/ low master vol, and low preamp/high master. Depends on which amp model.

@Burn Witch Burn Thank you for the reply.
I am using the drive from the amp and not the overdrive pedal(using it to tighten the bass).For the cafo the input drive is at 5.63 and mv is at 2.79 using dasmetal. For the other one input drive is at at 6 using Friedman BE.

For both I am using ML Usa djent cabs: For cafo Misha Mix 3 and sweep using MLUSA DJENT MD421 18.

@Burn Witch Burn Thank you for the reply.
I am using the drive from the amp and not the overdrive pedal(using it to tighten the bass).For the cafo the input drive is at 5.63 and mv is at 2.79 using dasmetal. For the other one input drive is at at 6 using Friedman BE.
For both I am using ML Usa djent cabs: For cafo Misha Mix 3 and sweep using MLUSA DJENT MD421 18.