String plucking noise .. help

hussamd

Power User
I am new to the Ultra. I was playing high gain patches yesterday and noticed that I can hear string plucking noise on the higher strings very vividly. I don't know if this is normal or I have never noticed it with real amps.

I tried a couple of guitars and different patches with no change. I tried to change the drive and noise gate. It helped just a little but defeats the purpose of playing high gain.

I recorded the sound and you can distinctly hear it towards the end of the track with the neck pickup.

The guitar is ESP Eclipse II with EMG Blackouts. It also did it with other EMG 60/81 guitar. The patch is the stock Pre Santana on Bank A (35?).

I tried light plucks and that did not help. I can hear the sound on headphones and more pronounced on 4x12 cab.

Any ideas how to get rid of this or do I have to get used to it. I would appreciate any help.

Are you talking about pick-attack? If yes, you are trying to get rid of something in your sound that the Axe-fx is actually known for doing very well, preserving picking dynamics and pick attack much like a real tube amp.

However, there are a few things you can do to soften it, maybe run a compressor before the amp with a small-ish attack time, <5ms. Set the threshold to taste.

Are you talking about pick-attack? If yes, you are trying to get rid of something in your sound that the Axe-fx is actually known for doing very well, preserving picking dynamics and pick attack much like a real tube amp.

However, there are a few things you can do to soften it, maybe run a compressor before the amp with a small-ish attack time, <5ms. Set the threshold to taste.

Thanks Radius_Vecto. Tried that with no success. It is not that bad. I just have not noticed it before and I am obsessing about it. My ears will have to get used to it.