SPOILER --> It's complicated

Steeldom

Hi folks!

TL/DR is at the bottom if you want to skip the prose. :)

I'm a hobby musician like most of us, I think. I'm not in studios and I also don't play big arenas. If you play at home and in rehearsals and small to mid sized gigs, rock to metal, then you might be in a similar situation as me and this review might be helpful.
Like probably many of you I started my gear-journey without any clue what I actually wanted.
My long time friend and guitar teacher is absolutely anti-modelling so naturally I wasn't looking into it
at the beginning.
That was pretty much until someone told me of the mysterious "Axe-Fx Ultra". I looked into it and
was fascinated by the videos of Ketil Strand. But moneywise these units were WAY out of my league.

My first modeller was a Pod X3 Pro and I had a great time with this unit. Especially because it enabled me
to try out what all the "wet/dry/wet" fuss was all about.

The next modeller that really caught my attention was the Kemper. The concept still sounds absolutely amazing to me.
Unfortunatelly if I'm honest even though I really wanted it to do the thing, I never really got there.
And after many considerations I decided to go the exact opposite way and invested into a traditional rig.
image.jpeg

This thing is a beast and even though it's far from perfect (amateur wiring on my part) I can get about 90% of all sound combinations I
need. It tickles my gear nerdiness with a Wet/Dry setup, all sorts of interessting routing and all sorts of knobs to turn.
But most important of all, there it was, THAT sound. That creamy, midrangy, sometimes a bit dirty but lovely tube tone.

So... case closed?

Not quite because of a lot of very obvious problems.
1. I tried to fit as much flexibility as I could into a rig that's as small as possible. But even then it's quite a bit of Equipment. And even though I prepared it
to be as convenient as possible to set up it's still a lot of cabeling. Which leads to