1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Splitting/recording output1

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by Phil emptiness.be, Jul 21, 2015.

  1. Phil emptiness.be

    Phil emptiness.be
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    London
    Does anyone split the output1 L+R with some kind of splitter to go to a recorder on one side and FOH on the other?
    (Or some might do the same for in-ear?)

    What do you use? Looking for portable way to record my outputs on the road.

    Cheers!
     
  2. Sixstring

    Sixstring
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9,292
    Likes Received:
    2,903
    Location:
    SoCal!
    You could always place an Efx block at the end of the chain and use OP-2.
     
  3. Phil emptiness.be

    Phil emptiness.be
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    London
    Output 2 is unbalanced ...
     
  4. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,715
    Likes Received:
    16,810
    What is wrong with an unbalanced output?
     
  5. #5 Phil emptiness.be, Jul 21, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2015
    Phil emptiness.be

    Phil emptiness.be
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    London
    Loss of quality when recording, right?

    Is anyone using a splitter?
     
  6. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    25,715
    Likes Received:
    16,810
    Nope. No loss of quality. Don't let the "un" part fool you.

    Why would anyone put an output on their device that knowingly has lower quality?
     
  7. Sixstring

    Sixstring
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9,292
    Likes Received:
    2,903
    Location:
    SoCal!
    Yes and no it really depends on the length of the run you are going to use. You could use a DI if you're super concerned with it and convert to XLR for a longer run. The main benefit/advantage using OP-2 vrs a splitter would be that you would have separate level control to the Mixing console and recording device.
     
  8. Stratman68

    Stratman68
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,133
    Likes Received:
    1,575
    I record thru out 2 everyday in my Home studio - no difference whatsoever. 15 ft cables
     
  9. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,937
    Likes Received:
    85,456
    No. Why would there be a loss of quality?
     
  10. barhrecords

    barhrecords
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8,968
    Likes Received:
    5,891
    Location:
    34.673, -86.745
    I can't tell any loss of quality between Out1 LR XLR, Out1 LR 1/4", and Out2 1/4".

    The analog quality is excellent. One of the best signal paths in my studio.
     
  11. Phil emptiness.be

    Phil emptiness.be
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    London
    Oh my mistake then! I thought there was less signal when unbalanced.

    Anyway, i've got something in the loop so I can't use output 2...
    So the question was really about splitters. thanks though I learned something.
     
  12. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,937
    Likes Received:
    85,456
    You can use Output 1 1/4" and XLR at the same time.

    XLR is only necessary for long cable runs where there is the danger of picking up interference on the cable. Anything less than, say, 10 meters and unbalanced is fine.
     
    Sixstring likes this.
  13. maxdown

    maxdown
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011
    Messages:
    2,881
    Likes Received:
    1,712
    Location:
    Norn Irn
    Cliff beat me to it ... I was going to say (and still am it seems) that there is already a splitter built into the Output 1s - XLR L+R and 1/4 inch L+R are identical signals and can be used at the same time
     
  14. Phil emptiness.be

    Phil emptiness.be
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    London
    At the same time? That is amazing! For some reason I thought it was one or the other. Hopefully the levels will be suitable for the recorder.
     
  15. barhrecords

    barhrecords
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8,968
    Likes Received:
    5,891
    Location:
    34.673, -86.745
    Yep six simultaneous analog outputs.

    I have used all six at one time or another and all have pristine quality. Highest standard in the analog path of most anything out there.

    (two more if you count the headphone out)
     
  16. Phil emptiness.be

    Phil emptiness.be
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    London
    Thanks all
     
  17. InsideOut

    InsideOut
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    614
    Location:
    SC, USA
    This is great to hear. It must have changed since the Standard. I remember one time I tried both xlr and 1/4" on output 1 on my standard with really bad results (loud, awful noise through the PA) and everyone else looking at me like wtf are you messing up over there. For that reason I never even tried it with the II.
     
  18. ps43203

    ps43203
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    254
    Location:
    Lockport, NY
    There is a way to lose quality, only if you are using garbage cables. I can't stress enough, using decent quality cables,
    especially within the digital realm. You don't have to spend $100.00 on a cable, just make sure they are decent quality.
     
  19. Stratman68

    Stratman68
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,133
    Likes Received:
    1,575
    Home studio .......So I can use out 1 XLR to record ( and playback thru Studio monitors) and unbalanced out 1 to FRFR in the room behind me- now I like that - did not know that.

    Also frees up to use fx loop. I can use volume on frfr for in the room volume . I never knew this - learn everyday here. Amazing!

    Thanks everyone
     
    barhrecords likes this.

Share This Page