Speaker IR's, Reverb Settings and Food For Thought

Scott Peterson

Global Moderator
Vendor
**This is 100% subjective opinion presented as 100% subjective opinion. I am NOT any sort of expert on this subject; I am just discussing MY opinion as such. YMMV!**

I've been on a mission my whole playing life to find the perfect tones. I've been a gear hound since I was a kid. I am unabashedly focused on my tone quest along with creating and performing music. I started playing at 12 years old; I'm 42 now.

Once I got the Axe-FX, I heard the top end of the actual tone sound like the best tones I've ever heard. The science behind it is more understandable to me know; but in the end what matters is the way the tone is shaped by the tools at hand.

In my Axe-FX journey, and it is a journey, many of the epiphanies and added colors from Cliff's persistent and focused development have only made the tools at hand even more powerful and allowed us - the end user - to take the 'blank palette' and create our own soundscapes. Be it as a preamp with the cab/power-amp blocks off; be it FRFR as an all-in-one direct to FOH solution.

I came into the box in late spring/early summer 2007 at version 3.xx firmware; there was no Ultra at that point. I waited 4 months to pay a lot of money for something I was essentially buying on faith and at that point we had a 30 day trial. I knew in the first 20 minutes that this thing was THE thing for me.

I was in the chorus begging for the Royer 121 mic and a 'none' mic setting; and we got it. When Cliff opened up the User Cab capability I KNEW in my heart that at some point moving forward it would become a very powerful part of the toolbox to craft end tones especially for the FRFR guys.