Songs that you can play all the notes, but you are never satisfied when recording them

Piing

Axe-Master
Gary Moore 'The Loner'. I've been playing it for several decades, and it has been on my DAW since Cakewalk was a MS-DOS MIDI sequencer triggering a multitrack tape with a SMPTE sync track. But yet every time I listen to my recordings there is some area that needs an extra muscle. Perhaps it has been covered so many times that there is no room for weakness. There is always lack of an added value to consider it a finished work.

Joe Satriani's "Crying" is also on that not-good-enough list. One little bending slightly out of tune or tempo totally ruins the final product.

But I keep playing them, because they are fun to play.

What's on your 'perpetual dissatisfaction' list?

Last edited:
"I'm alright" by Neil Zaza. Sounds nice when I play it (and I think to play all the notes).... but when I record it there's something missing... maybe Neil attitude 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣 )

"I'm alright" by Neil Zaza. Sounds nice when I play it (and I think to play all the notes).... but when I record it there's something missing... maybe Neil attitude 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣 )
I've never heard of Neil Zaza. Very melodic. Thank you for the introduction, I am following him now.

I've just found his version of Purple Rain. It is great. That is another instrumental I like to play, but after listening versions by Jack Thamarat or Vinai T I find little purpose of pressing the Save button after recording my sessions 😅

Neil is a wonderful player and a very nice musician: always ready to talk about gear (he uses FAS unit too) and music.

I have only tried recording these to track my progress:

Eruption - can play all/most of the notes, but it will never be satisfactory for me because it's one of the holy grails of guitar pieces.

Satch Boogie - ditto.

Cliffs of Dover - ditto.