So post 11b on high gain stuff - like tones better without drives... WAT!?

I've always been a user of a drive pedal in front of the amp for my high gain stuff. But as I was toying around today I just started playing with the amps alone, and I'm finding that I'm loving my tone a whole lot more. This is the first time I've felt this way across the board, so I've got to ask. Anybody else feeling this way?

Maybe it's because the amp dynamics are nicer. Maybe it's the bass cut function. Maybe it's the way the amps naturally compress now... What do you guys and gals think?

Which amps are you using? I've found some amps that work wonderfully alone (for that chugga-chugga nonsense) and some that sound flubby.

Yeah! The Peaveys have always sounded fine to me without a drive pedal (in "real life", that is). The Splawns and Rectos are just boomy beasts without a drive pedal tightening things up IME.

I can't tolerate any but the Herbie ch4, and maybe 3, without a pedal in front. They all gurgle and splutter rather than ZOOM. Makes me wonder whether they're really accurate. In fact, many of the Monsters of High Gain amps showcased sound fuckin ugly with a TS in front of them, and great without.

I can't tolerate any but the Herbie ch4, and maybe 3, without a pedal in front. They all gurgle and splutter rather than ZOOM. Makes me wonder whether they're really accurate. In fact, many of the Monsters of High Gain amps showcased sound fuckin ugly with a TS in front of them, and great without.

They sound that way in real life too. The difference is when you put them in the mix. The TS immediately tightens the tone and lets it sit perfectly with plenty of room for the bass.

I noticed the same with the FAS modern. I get more clarity when turning off the drive for rhythm stuff with FW11b. I still like the drive for leads though but the guitar is getting wild with the squealing and feedback if I let go of the strings. I love it! Like I am riding a wild stallion.