1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Simple foot switch?

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by Garry short, Sep 4, 2018.

  1. Garry short

    Garry short
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone I just purchased a used Axe FX II MKII, and it's being shipped this week. Anyway what I would like purchase next is to a simple foot switch. Our band writes "grunge" alternative music and I would like to change back and forth between clean and crunch with one button for those gigs. Some of the music requires a lot of switching, so the easier it is for me to not go to the wrong channel the better. The best situation currently is using a boss DS-1 type pedal however I hate the tone so I use a 4 button Marshall foot switch on my amp. Is this possible? I also sing so I'm trying to make the switching as easy as i can.
     
  2. ChainOfThought

    ChainOfThought
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    If you just have two tones you need to switch between and nothing else at all (ie no extra boost, reverb, delay, chorus, anything at all...) Then you can just get a one button switch and set it up to do scene 1/2. This would be extremely limiting, but the absolute simplest thing you could do.

    For more control you could just go with a two button switch (one button to hit between two presets, the other would be scene1/2 again... So you could have clean/crunch and then heavy/lead or clean/heavy and then the other button turns on/off some effects etc)

    Or you start looking for an appropriate midi switch with the number of buttons you need.
     
  3. paranoid

    paranoid
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    florida
    MKII only has 1 switch port I believe. so a simple foot switch(such as a keyboard sustain switch)https://www.musiciansfriend.com/acc...8393623-sku^151551000000000@ADL4MF-adType^PLA (super cheap) could switch you from scene 1 to 2 and back again, but as @ChainOfThought has posted this would be eeeeeeeeeeexxxxxxxxxxttttttttttrrrrrreeeeeeeeeemmmmmmmmmmlllllly limiting!!!!!!!!!. Once you learn the ins and outs of the Fractal you will more then likely want some sort of midi pedal and an expression pedal or two.
     
    scottp likes this.
  4. ChainOfThought

    ChainOfThought
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    210
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Ahhh yea should have mentioned I didn't look into how many pedal jacks the axe physically has. I got mine bundled with an MFC so I never messed with other options.
     
  5. milleniumking

    milleniumking
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    33
    I have a single footswitch. All it does is go through each preset incementally. I use 4 in total so it steps 1 - 4 then back to 1
     
  6. keh

    keh
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    28
    If you program your AXE FX II with only one preset and Scene 1, 3, 5 and 7 are clean and 2, 4, 6 and 8 are crunch one simple footswitch is enough to change between these to "channels" (= scenes), for if you set the switch to "scene up" in the menu, it will change every time you press it and "restart" at scene 1 after you've reached scene 8.
    I own an ART X15 MIDI-Pedal with an extra "analog" footswitch output and do exactly the same - apart from changing the presets via MIDI.
     
    milleniumking likes this.
  7. Garry short

    Garry short
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I modified a Boss DS2 pedal to work as a footswitch. It works for switching back and forth between two preseta
     
  8. Bransty

    Bransty
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Midi Mouse works well for me. It can't switch scenes (but I'm no expert) but will go through 100 presets.
     

Share This Page