Setup suggestions for live gigs with Axe fx II :)

Hi everyone,
Noob here. I was wondering what would you suggest for live performances with the Axe-fx. I currently use a solid state amp and do it directly from the output 1 of axe fx. But i will not be carrying the amp everywhere so need a setup that would not change the tone from Axe fx xl+ much when I play with cabs in the venue. Currently looking towards matrix power amps. Is it possible to go direct to the cabs without the power amps somehow? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Generally a guitar 'amp head' refers to a pre-amp and a power amp together. Which sounds like what you are saying you currently use (solid state amp)?

In this case the Axe-fx is the pre-amp, so if you want to then use a traditional passive guitar cabinet (unpowered) then you will need to use a power amp as well.

@Gilly Thanks for taking the time to reply. I see you use Matrix GT1000FX but do you have a cabinet or connect it to FRFR? I was thinking of getting a GT1000FX too so I can use it for either passive FRFR or Cabs

Welcome Jackson. I now use the AX8 for live gigs, but when I was using the Axe, I sent output 1 to FOH by using XLR cables, and sent output 2 to a stage amp. I used a Line 6 Flextone II XL (100w 2x12 Celestions). I used the effects return on the Flextone so as to bypass the preamp stage, so I was basically using it as a power amp. As Gilly noted, the Axe was the preamp. I just used the stage amp as a monitor, and only used it in larger venues. Again, welcome. I hope this helps you.

@Geezerjohn Thank you, that did help :) I am more of a traditional setup guy with amp heads and cabs. But now looking to go FRFR just cause it does not change the tone of Axe fx that much. Thinking of buying a Matrix GT1000FX to use it with passive FRFRs.