Setup for recording

torkolort

Inspired
Hi,

First let me say I have very little experience with pretty much all the technical aspects of musical equipment. Although I've been playing guitar for 7 years, unfortunately I do not have the patience or time to learn and understand how everything works. I am one of those guys who just want to plug in and play. This, together with the fact that I am very particular about what kind of sound I want, is not a very good combination...

I mainly play Dream Theater stuff which requires good sound. I've owned a Mesa Boogie Nomad which didn't do it at all. For a couple of years I've been using a Line 6 PodXT Live. It was better, but I was far from satisfied. When I saw and heard what the Axe-Fx could do I just had to buy it, although I knew it would be a technical challenge. I have just received the Axe-Fx and so far I'm really happy.

So, the only recording I've done earlier is through the PodXt, using Steinberg Cubase studio. My younger brother has more experience with all of this than me and he insists on buying a Mac and to use Pro Tools. I know he's right, but I'll have to wait as I cannot afford this at the moment. My question is, what do I need to record directly to my computer? Can I hook it up to the PodXt and use that as a recording device or do I need something else?

Since I am such a noob, I will probably be asking some weird questions here from time to time, so I apologize in advance :D
Thanks!

First, congrats on the Axe and welcome to the forums!

Second... you're right -- a lack of patience and time combined with a bar set rather high is not a good combo. Ummm... good luck? :D

Third: http://www.tweakheadz.com/guide.htm