1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug? Scratchpad de-phasing in Axe-Manage vs Cab-Lab

Discussion in 'Axe-Edit III' started by sebastos08, Nov 29, 2018.

  1. #1 sebastos08, Nov 29, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2018
    sebastos08

    sebastos08
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    525
    Location:
    France, Champagne Ardennes
    Hi all and Michael
    I did some tests on the audition of "ir" and I noticed something that seems to me abnormal.
    when I send an ir from cab lab to a afx3 scratchpad, all seems logical and correct on the resulting sound (A).
    when I send the same "ir" from " ae3/ axe manage cab" to the same scratchpad, I have a result on the sound as out of phase (B)
    here is the audio sample of A and B


    Did you have the same issue by your side?
    Any tips, is it a bug or an misunderstanding by my side?
    Thank you for your feedback
     
    AlGrenadine likes this.
  2. Holyoli

    Holyoli
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hi S├ębastien,
    Is it a single IR or do you mix it in the Axe Fx cab block with another ?
     
  3. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,827
    Likes Received:
    22,390
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Cleaned up the title for you.
     
  4. sebastos08

    sebastos08
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    525
    Location:
    France, Champagne Ardennes
    THANKS ALEX ;)
     
  5. sebastos08

    sebastos08
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    525
    Location:
    France, Champagne Ardennes
    it's a single ir in a single strachpad port
     
    Holyoli likes this.
  6. sebastos08

    sebastos08
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    525
    Location:
    France, Champagne Ardennes
    Hi all i'm coming back to you to know if somebody else have the same issue than me or not. .?

    i've just installed the new ae v1.00.08. but i've always the same dephasing ir sound when i send it from ae manage cab. all works ween when i send the same isolated ir from cablab
     
  7. #7 Holyoli, Dec 4, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018
    Holyoli

    Holyoli
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    133
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hi, I just did the test with the same OH IR send from the Cab-Lab 3.4.1 browser, mixer, from Axe Manage Cab (Axe Edit 1.00.08) and from the Axe memory slot. I have the same result, no issue. I tried with no processsing and min phase in Cab-Lab.

    There is something I don't understand : how can you have a phase problem with only one IR ? I thought phase problems were only possible between several sources, it's seems strange to me but maybe I miss something.

    Did you check if Cab-Lab was connected and if you had the correct audio settings ? It happened to me that I forget to do it after opening the program and although it seems to work it doesn't work the way it should.
     
  8. sebastos08

    sebastos08
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    525
    Location:
    France, Champagne Ardennes
    thanks for the reply,
    no, cablab wasn't connected at the same time.

    I know, it's very strange to ear like a "dephasing sound" result with only one IR test and on single scratchpad port.
    moreover it works very well when I send the same ir on the same strachpad from "cablab"

    i can't undestand why i've this issue.
    i don't know if it's a ae bug or not and it would be great to receive the feedback of others users on this test.

    Maybe Michael can help me too to analyse this issue???
     
    Holyoli likes this.
  9. AlGrenadine

    AlGrenadine
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6,735
    Likes Received:
    6,097
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    @sebastos08, do you have some air in the cab block?
    Do you have the min phase setting enabled in AxeEdit 's settings?
     
  10. sebastos08

    sebastos08
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    525
    Location:
    France, Champagne Ardennes
    yes my Lord
     
  11. AlGrenadine

    AlGrenadine
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6,735
    Likes Received:
    6,097
    Location:
    Limoges, France
    Yes for both?
    Then phasing could come from the air amount ?
     
  12. #12 sebastos08, Dec 5, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2018
    sebastos08

    sebastos08
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    525
    Location:
    France, Champagne Ardennes
    yes for both, i'll try tomorrow to set the air parameter to 0 before sending the ir to scratchpad under ae
     
    AlGrenadine likes this.
  13. #13 sebastos08, Dec 6, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2018
    sebastos08

    sebastos08
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    525
    Location:
    France, Champagne Ardennes
    so I dig and found a beginning of explanation of the issue in ae.
    this concern is related to the transfer of ir from ae highlighted by the % air parameter.
    To reproduce the defect, it is better to use an ir on a high gain amp.

    1st test on channel A / CAB1:

    resetting the channel block A (% air parameter reset to 0)
    import an ir to the scrachpad 1 from ae / axis-manage cabs
    resulting in sound = channel A / CAB1

    2nd test on channel B / CAB1:

    resetting the channel block B / CAB1 (% air parameter reset to 0)
    import the same ir to scrachpad 2 from CABLAB on scrachpad2
    resulting in sound = channel B / CAB1

    now, when you switch between channels A / B, you can't hear any differences.

    but when you add % air (like 40% for example), you hear a phase-shifted sound on channel A whereas on channel B coming from Cablab, the influence of% air is natural and not out of phase.
    it is important to note that when transferring ir from ae and cablab, I use the same ir processing mode "min phase".

    thank you for telling me if you can reproduce this phenomenon on your side to confirm if there is a bug in ae or not
     
    AlGrenadine likes this.
  14. sebastos08

    sebastos08
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    525
    Location:
    France, Champagne Ardennes
    AlGrenadine and Holyoli like this.

Share This Page