Sanding down a RGAIX6FM? (Question)

Morbid

Inspired
Hey gang, quick question.

I've been looking at purchasing an Ibanez RGAIX6FM in the future, in the Frosted White finish. I love the factory images of the guitar, but all of the ones I've seen face to face, the grain is a lot more subtle than the factory images display. So much so, that in the right lighting, the guitar almost just looks...well, white!

I can only assume this is an over application of the white dye, leading me to wonder; could I sand some of it away and reveal more of the natural grain without completely getting rid of the transparent white finish?

I've got NO experience in this, which is why I'm posting on the forum to ask. Also, I'm under the impression that the flamed top is actually just a veneer, as the flaming doesn't extend into the bevel of the horns at all from the guitars I've seen. So what are the odds you think that there's not even enough of a veneer to get past some of the white and into the natural grain?

Edit: For the sake of visual comparison-

Last edited:
Most likely the grain is not as figured. Only real way to do it would be go down to bare wood, do some grain enhancements, like dying black and sanding back, then redoing the white. It’s really involved and you will,probably ruin it if it’s your first time. Maybe look around for another one with better figure?

Most tops are just veneers. Rarely are they more than 1/8" thick on mass production gear. High-midrange and upper end gear will get thicker slabs as tops. Since they finish that one, it's likely Ibanez just doesn't use a well figured piece of wood... they save that for the natural finishes, bursts, etc.
dpeterson basically hit the nail on the head, but, if you haven't done any kind of refinishing, it's easy to mess up. If you have a pro do it, it'll be at least $300, so your $900 is now $1200, and you'll *never* recoup that refin cost if you sell down the line.