1. Recent events require us to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Roland JC 40 and AxeFX

Discussion in 'Rigs and Routing' started by dpavel, Aug 2, 2015.

  1. dpavel

    dpavel
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    458
    I'm looking forward to buy the new JC 40 from Roland . Would like to use with my AxeFx2XL live on stage , as it has a stereo Fx loop , so I can just plug AxeFx output 1 in the JC 40 loop . Anyone already use a JC120 or similar transistor amp with the AxeFX? Is the amp "transparent" enough or it will color the tone too much ? Thanks for your input ;)
     
  2. dpavel

    dpavel
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    458
    Anyone ?
     
  3. retro_dad

    retro_dad
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    310
    Location:
    South Florida
    I've been intrigued by these as well ever since I saw the demos at NAMM. The stereo sound is a selling point for me. I'm concerned about how neutral the speakers are as well as the amount of clean power it has.
     
    dpavel likes this.
  4. dpavel

    dpavel
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    458
    Who tried a JC120 with the AxeFx?
     
  5. dpavel

    dpavel
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    458
    Thanks for your input Aleclee ;)
     
  6. silence.speaks

    silence.speaks
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Colorado
    I use the Axe with a JC-120. I insert into the FX loop, sounds good and is plenty loud. Surprised it's not a more common amp to use with the Axe, it's a pretty common backline amp.
     
  7. Jeries

    Jeries
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I had a GREAT vintage jc120 - but sold it to get the newer version because i wanted the stereo fx loop to use with the Axe FX.

    Ironically- in the idk 3 years- I've never tried it...
    Since then I also picked up 2 JC120H - The Jazz Chorus Heads -

    I kinda like that because I can use a cab (like w/v30s) and also it has an extra high/treble knob-

    anyway - but i will say this- i've pluged a ton of pedals through the jazz chorus and it takes pedals so so so well

    given its clear/transparency i'd say leave cab simulation on-

    BUT also- DONT BUY INTO THE HYPE

    they've made the JC120 for 30+ years and never stopped
    they made 40w ones, 160 watt ones etc-

    so- why pay $600 for an amp they used to make you can get almost anywhere used for $200?
     
  8. fremen

    fremen
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    3,333
    Likes Received:
    4,888
    Location:
    Banana Republic of Mauritius
    I did, in a rehearsal studio, and it works fine. I plugged in the front panel, clean panel, and lowered all EQs. Did you try the JC40 ? I'm curious about that one, specially because of stereo input, and the light weight
     
  9. dpavel

    dpavel
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    458
    Bought the JC 40 ,2 weeks ago from Thomann . Use the Fx return of the JC 40 . Compared to my Focals CMS 65 monitors , my AxeFx through the JC 40 sounds a bit nasal ( kind of boosted mids ) , but on rehearsal with a keyboard player my guitar tone cuts better in the mix...Makes a good scene amp , not for studio IMHO .
     
  10. jiagap

    jiagap
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    SW Washington State
    How are you liking the JC40? I have a pair of FBT monitors that sound great, but too much hassle hooking them all up and tearing down every week. I was looking for an easy grab and go solution, that I could do stereo with. Any insights on how you use it? do you use the fractal amp models and cabs? Direct in or thru the effects loop or both? etc .... anything that you wanna share I would be happy to listen to. Thanks!
     
  11. dpavel

    dpavel
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    458
    I hook my AxeFx2 XL in the stereo return of the Fx loop of the JC 40 , in this case only the power amp of the JC40 is used . On the AxeFx i use my presets as with my studio monitors , amps & cabs on , and I can tell you that it sound GREAT. I tried the AxeFx in front of the JC40 , sounds well with cabs on , but a little too much gain IMHO , witch boost the treble a bit .I only use the JC40 for gigs , still prefer my studio monitors (Focals CMS65) for home use and recordings.
     
    jiagap likes this.
  12. dpavel

    dpavel
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,385
    Likes Received:
    458
    JC40 is not FRFR , you can notice a mid range boost , but is great in a gig mix , on any volume with great low end and highs . I dont adjust my presets from live to studio , I just got used with that mid boost live sound;)
     
    jiagap likes this.
  13. #13 Stefan Kozlowski, Jun 9, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2018
    Stefan Kozlowski

    Stefan Kozlowski
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Bethesda MD
    I use a Roland JC 40 with my AX8 and I love this setup. I don't use the effects send/return and just plug the outputs directly into the stereo inputs on the front of the amp. I set the bright switch off and set all the tone controls to neutral. I find this platform to be particularly good for using cabinet blocks, something I almost never do into a guitar amp with guitar speakers. Also, the ability to run in stereo is a nice plus.

    When I'm using my AX8 in a live setting, I normally use a Matrix with two guitar cabinets and hence, I've never tried the JC 40 with other musicians. I'm not sure if it has enough output to hang in a live setting with a drummer but the JC 40 is the most neutral and cab block friendly combo amp I've ever come across.
     

Share This Page