1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Reverb too loud

Discussion in 'AX8 Discussion' started by Jens973, Apr 11, 2019.

  1. Jens973

    Jens973
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    I agree totally ! I was surprised how different the reverb sounded - at home only thickening a bit and at rehearsal same setting but more volume and it was annoying.
     
  2. DLC86

    DLC86
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    1,361
    Location:
    Sicilia - Italia
    Exactly what I do and this method also avoids dry volume jumps if the reverb gets disabled when using too much CPU.
     
  3. Jens973

    Jens973
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    After trying all - I figured out that for mixing the reverb I like more to have a parallel path in the AX8 with mix on 100% and adjusting with level knob. But in this way I am losing the option of the global reverb parameter. So I decided to hook up an external pot to adjust via extern1 the level of reverb - and it works just great for me.

    Thanks for all your ideas !
     
    Smittefar likes this.
  4. pauly

    pauly
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    1,429
    Location:
    Victoria australia
    Hi Jens,
    Try 7%
    Thanks
    Pauly

     
  5. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19,953
    Likes Received:
    9,708
    Mix and levels aren't the only adjustable Reverb parameters. ;)

    If you set Time really low (like below 1.00), you can fatten up your tone without having the reverb call attention to itself.
     
    Rayos and Jens973 like this.
  6. Rayos

    Rayos
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2018
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    125
    Location:
    Gran Canaria. Islas Canarias. EU
    I run reverb in parallel, with time set really low. Yes. It works for me.

    I don't use reverb as... "special effects". Just a touch so guitar doesn't sound too dry.
     
  7. Admin M@

    Admin M@
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,116
    Likes Received:
    28,084
    Location:
    Greenest NJ
    Did you possibly adjust the global reverb mix?
     
  8. Jens973

    Jens973
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    I tried the global reverb mix aswell - after I activated the global button in the preset it worked also, but with less impact Now I decided to use an external pot to control the reverb level from -40dB to 0dB. The reverb is in parallel to the dry signal. Besides the bigger impact it can have on the reverb level it also gives me the opportunity to have direct access to the "reverb level" without diving into sub-menus to adjust it. To me feels more comfortable like this.
     

Share This Page