Recordings using power amp/real cabs?

don't think I've seen anything in the recording section that wasn't direct. Occasionally you'll see somebody post camera audio from an "amp in the room".

But I'm curious if anybody is recording axe-fx II -> power amp -> real cabinet. I am running a Mesa 290 and am considering switching over to a 2u Matrix gt1000fx, so if anybody is running that particular power amp I'd be very interested to hear the sound coming right off the cab.

The reason I'm asking is because even though I'm relatively new to mic'ing up a cabinet (I've been recording direct since I bought the thing), I am finding myself really enjoying the sound/feel/tone of the real cab much more than any IR I've ever tried. I have considered making IRs for my personal use, but I don't currently have the last piece of gear (speaker level DI). I have, in fact, made a tonematch of my recent mic position, and while very similar, it's definitely lossy (definition in low end thump and high end crispiness).

So, if you've got any examples or have any particular opinion on this matter, let me hear it please.

I thought you were selling your axe?

Well sure. You're fully invested into this unit. I've been with it since the beginning of the axe fx 2 and have decided to sell everything and go back to a traditional rig. This thing is great but it's never going to be 100% and to some of us it's important.

I'm glad there are people who are happy because it means I will likely find a buyer sooner.