Recording in PT vs Logic

gdgross

Experienced
I've been a long time Logic user, recording often with the axe-II over usb without many issues.

Recently installed Pro Tools 11 on my machine and, while I was able to record the AXE-II over USB without too much hassle, the audio sounds pretty lousy - lots of noise and pops and clicks when I play.

I've always just recorded at 44.1 in logic and let logic resample the axe. In PT my session was also 44.1k (seems like its a major pain in the butt to change the session sample rate in pt when external hardware is connected...) I did have at PT aggregate device set up with my apogee ensemble as well as the axe fx II.

Does anyone have experience with this? Sound like a sample rate issue or something else?

Thanks!

In Logic I always record in 48K sample rate with the Axe as per the manual otherwise I get clicks, pops and static. I've no experience with Protools.

Not sure if using USB makes a difference vs. AES/SPIDF, but in PT I've had to ensure the "Clock Source" is set to Axe in the hardware setup. If I don't, I will get regular pops/clicks. With the clock source from the Axe, I get no issues. The Axe is fixed to 48kHz as well, thus forcing that sample rate for recording (so ensure your PT session is setup at the same rate.)

does USB or AES/SPDIF make any difference in sound? Does tracking use more CPU than just using Axe Edit? If so, how much CPU?

Not sure if using USB makes a difference vs. AES/SPIDF, but in PT I've had to ensure the "Clock Source" is set to Axe in the hardware setup. If I don't, I will get regular pops/clicks. With the clock source from the Axe, I get no issues. The Axe is fixed to 48kHz as well, thus forcing that sample rate for recording (so ensure your PT session is setup at the same rate.)