Record AX8 Wah Expression Pedal MIDI Data into Logic X

Mesatallic

Hi,

I would like to record MIDI data from the movement of my expression pedal (External 1) into Logic X.

(so I can automatically control a wah block later on)

Does anyone have any experience with this?

Thanks.

NOTE:
I've some experience with MIDI. I can change the AX8 Banks/Presets/Scenes on MIDI channel 1 via Logic X
https://forum.fractalaudio.com/threads/changing-presets-with-logic-x-bank-not-working.138225/

I can also change channels on my Mesa MkV 25 via MIDI scenes and a Axess CFX4 box.

Last edited:
Input: (Need help with this)
I'm looking to get the MIDI data from my expression pedal (External 1) into Logic X.
I want to record the movement of the pedal, instead of drawing it in with the MIDI draw pencil.

Output: (Solved)
I've worked out how to control the Wah block via Logic X MIDI CC16 (General #1) assigned to External 2.
(Though only with the MIDI draw pencil)

Last edited:
Is recording MIDI data into Logic X from the External 1 pedal even possible with the AX8 via USB MIDI?

Could someone tell me, just so I can stop trying to do it.

Is recording MIDI data into Logic X from the External 1 pedal even possible with the AX8 via USB MIDI?

Could someone tell me, just so I can stop trying to do it.

In case you want to record Midi CC messages reflecting the position of an external pedal then the answer is no.

Thanks ChristThePhone, I thought so.
I read somewhere that Axe-Fx II has USB Adapter Mode MIDI thru and AX8 doesn't.

Is there any way to record MIDI CC messages from an expression pedal by bypassing the AX8?

Through some kind of 3rd party MIDI box maybe?
https://www.thomann.de/gb/midi_solutions_pedal_to_midi_converter.htm#bewertung

NOTE:
I'm using the Fractal EV-2 pedal.
I also have a Ground Control Pro I don't use. I think it transmits MIDI CC messages.

Last edited:
I'll try the Ground Control Pro first, then think about getting the Midi Solutions box and report back.

Thanks.