Recently got my first AxeFX-XL, any reason why most presets are "dark" sounding? Is this normal?

SinglecutGuy

Inspired
I apologize if this is a simple answer/fix, but I'm new to the world of digital modeling preamps. I have an AxeFX-XL and MFC101 MKII, and while I love everything about the options, I find myself having to go into a GEQ for almost any preset and bump up the midrange and high end (1K to 4K area) to get it to sound "clear". I have this problem no matter how I hook it up. I've tried the headphone jack into Shure SE325 ear buds, directly out of the XLR output into a Yamaha TF series mixer with flat EQ, into powered PA speakers (I've used EV EKX, and JBL PRX), and I've also just tried going directly out the back into a powered floor monitor with flat EQ. I've used this live a few times now, and I always find myself either drastically altering the EQ on the channel of the board to get it to cut through a mix, or going in and drastically tweaking the amp settings.

It just seems like all the presents sound extremely dark, and all need significant tweaking to get them to cut through a mix. Is this normal? Has anyone else experienced this issue, and if so, what did you do to rectify? I've got a few presets now that I've worked on, and it just seems like I have to tweak just to get it sound clear, and it may or may not depart from the original sound by just trying to get it to sound "good".

Is there something in the settings that will fix this other than EQ? Any help or advice would be appreciated. It just seems like all of the reviews and demos I see of the AxeFX models, have amazing tonality, and what I have here just sounds rather flat and dark.

I guess I was just under the impression that these were a plug and play, and that the presets would sound like the amps directly from the start, directly into a board/powered speaker. What am I doing wrong?

try the low cut, and then check out the "bright" knob. Also, what kind of tones are you going for?