1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Reaper Sounds Like Crap?

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by exilemetaldude, Nov 7, 2017.

  1. exilemetaldude

    exilemetaldude
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi guys,

    I'm trying to make the switch to Reaper from Sonar, so for a test run I'm making a new recording of a song I already did in Sonar. Trouble is, the tone playback from Reaper sounds horrible, fuzzy and very muddy. I switch back to the Sonar recording and it's clear and crisp. It's an ambient clean guitar sound; the distorted guitars sound super similar so I'm not sure if there's a difference on those and I just can't hear it, but the clean sounds much worse and I haven't made any changes to firmware or the preset.

    I searched for some Reaper threads on here but it didn't seem like there was a resolution. Both projects in both softwares are at 44100.
     
  2. BillyZeppa

    BillyZeppa
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    352
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    So you imported the Sonar .wav clips from a project into Reaper?
    What about the other way around - does something recorded in Reaper sound funny when imported to Sonar?
     
  3. exilemetaldude

    exilemetaldude
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry - I meant that the files recorded in Reaper sounded bad. I didn't do any transfer between the projects.
     
  4. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,085
    Likes Received:
    4,710
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    Are you using the Axe-Fx II as your interface? It's locked at 48K. Sonar might be converting on the fly, like many other DAWs. Maybe Reaper does not???
     
  5. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18,065
    Likes Received:
    8,144
    DAWs don't have a sound of their own. Something isn't configured right.
     
    Funeral, geepee, BillyZeppa and 3 others like this.
  6. outloaf

    outloaf
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    45
    I use StudioOne, Pro Tools, Cubase and Reaper daily.. there is absolutely no differencell in fidelity/quality between them. It sounds like your having a sample rate issue..which is strange because reaper converts on the fly.
     
    spx90 and Wolfenstein98k like this.
  7. jayveekay

    jayveekay
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Never experienced such a thing with Reaper in about 10 years.
    Reaper does convert on the fly - a feature that I make use of all the time.
    I would still check your Reaper preferences and the project settings.

    preferences -> audio -> device -> request sample rate (off by default, but you might try something else)

    file -> project settings -> sample rate (also off by default)

    Post a clip of something you recorded on Reaper that sounds bad... could help us diagnose the problem.
     
  8. pyba

    pyba
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hello, I have had the same issue with Reaper, try several updates, spent hours in the menus both of Reaper and the Axe. Never found the cause of the crappy sound, went to Tracktion 5 then 6 (free) which worked right away. If you find the root cause, I am interested.
     
  9. slinky005

    slinky005
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    964
    Likes Received:
    349
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    What is your sound card?
    I use the Axe as a soundcard with Win10 tablet and Reaper.
    If I choose the wrong asio driver, sounds like crap.
     
  10. exilemetaldude

    exilemetaldude
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey, sorry for the delay (computer network port died).

    Here are some clips.

    First, the SONAR clip which sounds exactly as the patch and direct from the Axe also sounds (amazing)


    And here's the Reaper clip.. which sounds far muddier and more distorted.


    For my ears the difference is huge. I'm pretty sure there's simply something setup wrong, but I can't be sure to know what it is because it seemed to setup/work without too much work (same in SONAR) but the difference in sound is just not acceptable.
     
  11. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4,085
    Likes Received:
    4,710
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    The Sonar track is stereo. The Reaper track is mono?
     
  12. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18,065
    Likes Received:
    8,144
    The reaper clip sounds as if cab modeling has been changed or turned off altogether. It sounds brighter—not muddier or more distorted.
     
    BillyZeppa likes this.
  13. exilemetaldude

    exilemetaldude
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the feedback guys.

    I can double check that this is the case, but the preset sounds fine to me when I'm just playing and I don't believe I've made any changes to it between these two recordings.

    Something I just thought of - I did move between these recordings, is it possible that different USB ports could produce a different sound result? I use USB in from Axe to PC for my recordings.
     
  14. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18,065
    Likes Received:
    8,144
    No.
     
  15. Brian Dixon

    Brian Dixon
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    49
    i have used pro tools, reaper, and studio one and I can't tell a difference. The threads about one sounding better than another is bogus. has to be a config issue. make sure if you are recording usb that the project is actually set to 48k. try that and let us know if that isn't the problem.
     
  16. ducci1012

    ducci1012
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    96
    Location:
    Vermont
    I believe Moke nailed it. You need to make sure you've specified the reaper track to be stereo. If I recall, you do this by specifying the stereo input for the Axe. I think sonar does this a little more automatically, but I forget. Once you have the stereo track recording correctly, you should have the "hi-fi" sound you're expecting from reaper.
     
  17. steadystate

    steadystate
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,799
    Likes Received:
    2,154
    Location:
    Las Vegas Nevada
    Moke is correct. The Reaper clip is mono.
     
    Moke likes this.
  18. #18 Buba, Oct 11, 2018 at 3:35 PM
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2018 at 6:39 PM
    Buba

    Buba
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to dig up an old thread, but actually I have the exact same problem (thought it might be better to write here than open a new thread). In my case, the sound difference between the actual wave file and what REAPER plays is exactly the same as in the previous post by exilemetaldude. I'm recording with no effects present, so it doesn't depend on any plugin configurations. I also record in mono, so changing REAPER track to stereo would not really make sense.

    I was only wondering - has anyone found (or happen to know) a solution to this?


    EDIT:
    It seems to be (at least in my case) a problem with media device (under Options -> Preferences -> Audio -> Device). After changing between WASAPI, Wave Out and Asio4All I noticed that in each case it sounded slightly differently. The solution that seems to be working is increasing Asio4All buffer size - this increases the sound quality by a great amount. Perhaps this problem doesn't occur if you have a powerful computer and/or native ASIO drivers, but I thought it may be useful to post this solution if someone with an obsolete laptop like me comes across this issue.
     

Share This Page