1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Re-amping (and recabing) with Reaper Question #433

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by tabqwerty, Nov 16, 2018.

  1. tabqwerty

    tabqwerty
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    12
    How do you recab a dry track after you reamped it / recorded the wet track with the cab block turned off (or are you not supposed to do it that way)?
     
  2. tabqwerty

    tabqwerty
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    12
    No one's EVER done this before? Google only had eight results for "axe-fx ii reamping and recabing" with two having all the search words in them, one of them being for the original Axe-FX, the other I can't find after clicking the link. I thought doing both together was standard for editing recordings. Unless I'm just overthinking or missing something.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. tabqwerty

    tabqwerty
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    12
  4. ChainOfThought

    ChainOfThought
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    221
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I use cab lab as a plug-in for reaper. When I record I usually just record the amp tone with the cab block bypassed, but so far we're just doing scratch tracks and writing. When we start actually tracking songs for an album I'll also record the dry track of course.

    So, to "recab" I just pick a different cab in the plug-in and it's done. I think you might be having a hard time searching for that because it's not a widely used term? I've never heard of recab'ing anyways, maybe it's just me.

    For reamping, you would just route the dry signal out from your DAW, through the axe and then back into the DAW.
     
  5. tabqwerty

    tabqwerty
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    12
    The cabinet/IR makes most of the sound, though.
     

Share This Page