Randall RF8

biffrov

Hi everyone! I have never used a midi controller in my life so I'm a real noob at this. But anyways.

I'm looking for a small, clean, simple midi controller for the Axe FX II XL.

I would like to be able to switch between like 6 different presets quick and easy, it's for live use obviously. I don't need to turn effects on and off, but it would be cool if I could tap tempo delay effects etc. I know a lot of people use the Behringer FB1010. It's way too big for my taste, but it's in my budget.

Then I found the Randall RF8 (RF8 | Randall Amplifiers | Guitar Amplifiers, cabinets, and more). It's clean, decent size. But will it even work?

Have googled my ass off but haven't found anything reliable. Cool if you guys had some answers! :)

John

That should work if they call it 'universal'. Although I'm guessing it's either 8 presets or 4 presets + 4 controllers (ie tap tempo). Will check the manual closer later today. I can present the possibilities it offers...

The RF8 seems to have quite a neat way of "programming" it using physical switches - take a look at this picture: http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71ETF7M36CL._SL1500_.jpg

Looks to me like you can assign a group of switches where only one is ever "on" (for preset/scene switching etc) and then have the remainder as "stomps", i.e. press for on, press again for off. Also you can make the "grouped" switches send PC instead of CC, according to the manual (http://www.randallamplifiers.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/RF8-User’s-Manual_rev1.pdf)

So you'd probably want to set it so the first six switches were grouped to send PC, so you could use them to choose which preset you were on, and then have the remaining two switches ungrouped and sending CC, for tap tempo or engaging effects if you ever decided you *do* need to.

Sounds like it's perfect for you :)

^^^