Quick question for Axe FX II: Headphones - Monitor - or Amp?

mgavin

Experienced
So I don't have that much cash for all three options - I have enough for the first two, and will save for the third...

So i'm considering grabbing a pair of Beyerdynamic Dt880 600 ohms headphones and a Schiit Audio Valhalla 2 headphone amp for the headphones, OR, I was also considering a Mackie HD1221 wedge instead of the headphones. I can only afford one for now. Any thoughts or opinions on these options or other suggestions? Thanks in advance!!!

Also how freaking funny is it to use the Axe FX II with tubes for your headphones? That's hilarious. (I'm new to this hifi audio stuff.)

My final goal is a Suhr Bella Amp, that thing sounds very nice! :D

Depends on your needs. Do you play out a lot or is this just for home use ?

I personally hate headphones, even good ones. Just isn't fun to sit there and play with cans on.

My vote goes to a powered monitor set, if for home use, like some KRK's or Adam's. Great low volume tone, and can get pretty loud too. Mine are hooking up to a mixer and I use them for my PC as well, music playback etc.

If you need something for live use, CLR or Xitone's are fantastic (plus actually can work for home volume quite well too)

I got me some powered headphones (Blue Mo-Fi, highly recommended) and powered studio monitors (Monoprice 5, great bang for your buck) and I'm satisfied with my purchases!

Not as much right now. Luke you have the lcd-2 what amp do you like? Will the Valhalla 2 work well w dt-880 600 ohms?

If you cannot make noise at home (such as my situation), then a very good set of headphones will do the job. Having said that, if you DIDN'T have to worry about noise at home then first choice is monitors.

For headphones, you don't really need a headphone amp, the Axe-Fx has very good quality components in it already - I would try it without spending money on a headphone amp first.