purchased Cab Lab bundle yesterday > a few thoughts!

Discussion in 'Cab-Lab Products' started by Soultrash, Apr 16, 2017.

  1. #1 Soultrash, Apr 16, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2017
    Soultrash

    Soultrash
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    262
    As written in the title i have purchased the Cab Lab bundle yesterday!

    The license code was delivered shortly after and i was able to activate Cab Lab in my Ilok,
    everything worked fine so far.

    Cab Lab seems very intuitive, it's easy to work with without having to read a manual and it's a
    real blessing being able to browse and audition through hundreds of IR's on the fly.

    What i most like about it, is the frequency chart in the upper right corner showing the
    frequency response of the IR.

    It's also extremely helpful seing the graph "shift" when mixing IR's, it's a nice visual feedback
    of what to expect of the IR mix.

    However there is two things i would like to be added!

    The numeral frequency representation is very rough showing only 20, 200, 2000 and 20000 hz.
    I think it would better if there were more frequencies in between so it would be easier to locate and potentially correct undesired frequencies.

    The second thing is refering to the "correcting" method.

    As of now my workflow is as follows.

    I open up AXE EDIT, create a row of shunts and insert a CAB block with my favorite amp.
    Then i dial in a few parameters that will bring me closer to the desired sound.

    This is of course not easy as at this point there is no IR loaded yet.
    I am roughly refering to gain settings, saturation and a few more tweaks,
    i leave the tone controls at default settings for now.

    Then i add a CAB block, go to the scratch pad and then i switch to CAB LAB,
    adding some of my favourite IR's.

    From this point the workflow is flawless but then it gets tricky..

    Not all but most IR's will have a pretty pronounced low end, so i have to switch from
    CAB LAB to AXE EDIT quite a few times to find the fitting low and high pass settings in the cab block.

    I think it would be much easier if i could do this directly in the CAB LAB plugin!

    Thinking a bit further i would not like to do this with low and high pass filters only,
    it would be much better if there was something like a 5-band graphic EQ built in,
    so this way we could shape the IR's directly in CAB LAB which would make the
    plugin way more versatile.

    Thinking even further a parametric EQ would be even more powerful!

    This would give endless possibilities where you could not just mix IR's but more being able to refine and even transform IR's to your liking before the mix process starts.

    I think something like this embedded into CAB LAB would be apretty great option,
    what do you people think?

    cheers
    S.
     
  2. Soultrash

    Soultrash
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    262
    well...
     
  3. dr bonkers

    dr bonkers
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    886
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    I have posted a Wish list about the frequency plots as well as others have. We have heard nothing about it.

    Regarding the low pass and high pass, they are hidden in Cab Lab 3 and I am not at my computer, but it is either a gear or wrench icon to the right of where each cab loads. If you click on it, you will see the low pass and high pass filters if my memory serves me correctly.
     
    Soultrash likes this.
  4. Soultrash

    Soultrash
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    262
    that's some very useful information, thank you very much! :)

    i think that it would be even more powerful if we could cut
    certain frequencies out instead of using just high/low pass filters,
    as simple EQ with user defined frequency range and "Q" should be perfect
    to eliminate certain bad frequencies right ar the root
     
    dr bonkers likes this.
  5. Soultrash

    Soultrash
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    262
    any more thoughts on this?
     
  6. dr bonkers

    dr bonkers
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,287
    Likes Received:
    886
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    If there are bad frequencies, rather than EQ the ir file, I move the mic positioning around.

    A little movement sometimes makes all the difference in the world.

    Also experimenting with any bass roll offs, db pads, or presence peaks, as well as switching available polar patterns, works wonders as well in curing an odd frequency issue most times.

    You can always use the EQ in the amp block too, if the wayward frequency is part of the cab's natural sound, just as you would do on a real life amp & cab combination.
     
    Soultrash likes this.

Share This Page