Progressive Solo Lessons

don_joe

Experienced
Hi guys!

After seeing a lot of videos posted in the forum "Recordings" I was surprised how many people here have excellent playing skills, which you could and themselves describe as "progressive". I have noticed that many of them have some sort of similarities in techniques and approach they use. There is certainly some system in their learning process. I hear some alternate picking, than legato (almost everyone learns at least those), than arpeggios, tapping, string skipping, economy picking....you name it. I mean, I'm hearing it and I'm stunned. It's now almost 30 years since I took a guitar in my hands and I feel like I'm still far far behind...If I may ask "these guys" a question: where do you learn these advanced styles at all?

So, what I would like to ask is:
- Are you guys mostly self-taught or did you have lessons with instructors to reach this level?
- If you know of any good free lessons online, would you please be so kind to share them?

Here where I live there aren't any academies or intructors on disposition, so I'm hopping on a few tips from you. I've searched on youtube, internet, but I spent a lot of time (which I also have a lack of) and didn't find that much systemised knowledge and lessons. If I'm going to subscribe, I would at least like to know it from you if it's worth of it. Any hint of yours is very welcome and I would highly appreciate it.

Many thanks in advance.

Ivo

Do a youtube search for John Petrucci of Dream Theater. Listen to him constantly to get a feel for his vibe.

I would venture to guess that most of what you hear isn't self taught. Most of the prog metal guys I know are steeped in theory, but are blessed with remarkable talent to translate that theory into beautiful music.

I'm self taught and dabble in that style a little, but can't come close to some of the stars on Youtube for sure.