1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems with volume using Apollo 8

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by believer, Oct 13, 2018 at 6:08 PM.

  1. believer

    believer
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running the Axe 3 using XLR to 1/4 from out 1 into the Apollo 8 inputs 5/6. I have out 2 of the Axe 3 into my Atomic Clr Neo. If I try to record into the Apollo 8, I have to crank the monitor knob on the Apollo in order to hear the Axe even though I have it unity gained. I've tried using the 10db or -4db setting on both but end up clipping the Axe and Studio One V4. I am trying to record songs but having to crank the monitor up that loud just to hear the Axe is overwhelming. I can get good sounds out of the Atomic, But need help getting enough volume out of the Apollo without the clipping. Any one else having the same problems?
     
  2. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22,006
    Likes Received:
    13,871
    What exactly does this mean?
     
  3. believer

    believer
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have guitar going into front input, and the out 1 knob on front panel is set to noon. I have read and heard that this is where the unity gain setting should be approximately.
     
  4. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22,006
    Likes Received:
    13,871
    If you aren’t getting enough signal into the next device and you can turn up the Output knob more, turn the knob up more.
     
  5. believer

    believer
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tried doing that but it seems to distort the signal much more.
     
  6. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22,006
    Likes Received:
    13,871
    much more? or is there distortion that isn't usually there? the signal shouldn't be distorted at all.

    inputs 5/6 seem to be Line Level. do you have an Output Knob or something on the Apollo itself? even if everything is "at unity gain" you still have to control the actual output volume.

    are you using other gear that is already much louder than the Axe? do you have Input Meters on the Apollo? what are they showing?
     
  7. #7 Kent, Oct 13, 2018 at 11:17 PM
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2018 at 11:40 PM
    Kent

    Kent
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Have you considered just recording the Axe via its own USB output?
    Is connecting the two via S/PDIF an option?
     
  8. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7,315
    Likes Received:
    4,004
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Just FYI, you posted about the Axe Fx III in the Axe Fx II forum.

    Also, unity gain can't be determined based solely on the output knobs. There is a LOT of gain that can be (and is) added by the various blocks - in particular, the Amp block.

    I believe that would be unity with NO blocks other than Input and Output.
     
  9. believer

    believer
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I noticed that after I hit post. Anyway, the levels on the Apollo are fine. It's just that I can't seem to get any descent volume from the Axe into the Apollo without it clipping. If I record a bass line using Omnisphere say at around -6 to -12 db, even if I leave the Axe (5/6) out's at 0 db, it seems that the bass is still overpowering and the levels on the Apollo start to clip. I may try using the Axe as my audio card and see what happen's.
     
  10. chris

    chris
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    22,006
    Likes Received:
    13,871
    that's weird. if the input from the Axe shows 0dB on the Apollo input meters, then it should be that loud.
     

Share This Page