Problems recording multiple layers using AXE-FX

guitarzpt

Experienced
Hello,

I'm having my first attempts at recording guitars through the AXE-FX.
I'm a pretty experienced recording engineer and have recorded all sorts of tube amps and other modelers.
What I'm feeling with the AXE-FX is despite when I'm playing (monitoring through the DAW) the sound seems great, after stacking the usual left, right take for doubling the sound actually seems to sound strange, worse then one side playing alone.
It seems a bit phasey and also a bit harsh...
Everytime I recorded tube amps when I do the double tracking for left right panning, the sound actually turns more powerfull and beefier.
It is not the case with the recordings I've been trying with the AXE-FX.

Anyone noticed something like this? Any suggestions on how I can improve?

I'm recording the AXE-FX from Out1 into an API 512c preamp through Lavry Blue AD conversion.

Best regards
Ricardo

Are you recording to stereo or mono tracks? You said Out1, but there are Left and Right channels. If you're recording both L and R channels to a single track, you're probably getting phase cancellations.

What is the patch like as far as amp type, any FX, cab sims, etc? If you put up a link to the patch you're using I or several other people on here could try tracking it in. The guitar, front end to your DAW, converters and any processing in your DAW will affect things as well (nice pre by the way) but what you're describing has not been my experience tracking my Ultra through my Fireface UFX. There are a lotta variables involved though. Hope this helps.

...he's coming into a mono API pre so it's not going to be 2 channels coming into that.

Ok...wasn't familiar with the preamp. Could still possibly be 2 channels if he's using 2 of them.

We would really need to know about the patch and the I/O settings of your Axe-Fx to know what's going on. Also, be aware the outputs on the Axe-Fx are line level (+4dB).