Presonus 24.4.2, remote iPad control, and other fun (by request)

Rick

Axe-Master
While making comment on another thread involving a Macbook Pro, I mentioned a few loosely related uses involving my FOH and monitor setup. I received a request to elaborate on it a little, due to interest in the application.

DISCLAIMER: This isn't a sales pitch, I don't work for any of the companies involved. I am just sharing personal experiences with gear. As always, use what's useful, discard the rest! Cost of the board varies with location, $3299 is a online standard price, I got mine for $2900 new from a major national dealer.

A little over a year ago I was having a really bad time with a Mackie Onyx 24.4 board breaking down all the time and losing one side of the mains. After two 300 mile each way trips for repair, and another failure, I had it fixed and sold it. I had been using Mackie for 20 years, so I started shopping to see what else was out there. I kept hearing about a console from Presonus, who I had only previously known for studio gear. But it was getting rave reviews for flexibility. So I check and found it was called the StudioLive, and came in 16 and 24 channel versions.

DISCLAIMER 2: It would take me litetally more space than the forum would give to explain everything this board will do. Go to PreSonus, click on products, select mixers, then StudioLive 24.4.2. There are a few videos there, and access to manuals and such. Like Fractal, they update firmware pretty regularly, which can also be downloaded free from this site. BTW, it is a digital board, and I can't begin to extol the virtues of that in actual function.

What I am going to cover here are the wireless capabilities of the console, which are just scary-cool. I am going to be semi-brief, so feel free to ask questions or PM. I will let you know what I do about the unit.