Preliminary CLR review for the mediocre bedroom player :)

Starfighter

Experienced
Hello friends!

Thought I would post a preliminary and non-scientific review of the Atomic CLR active wedge for the mediocre bedroom players (like myself) who are searching for the holy grail - how to make the most of the awesomeness that the Axe FX II puts out.

Background info

To put this into context, here´s a little background info: I am a newbie guitar player, started as an adult. My skill is limited to playing along to my favorite songs, mostly U2 and easy rock songs - and a little metal now and then. So my setup needs to reproduce the chimey AC-30-sound of The Edge with my Strat, and meaty Marshall-like power chords with my Les Pauls. I play mostly at home along with backing tracks - once in a while I play with a couple of other guitarist friends, and I´ve practiced with a band a handful of times.

I use headphones a lot (Grado Labs PS-500s through a Little Dot DAC II headphone amp/dac fed from the SPDIF OUT of the Axe FX) since I live in an apartment. For bedroom playing, I have been using Adam A3X studio monitors - with which I have been very satisfied. Enough headroom and oomph for the bedroom situation, and it has really given me a taste of that stereo sweetness the Axe delivers.

My decision process

But I also needed something that I could bring to guitar-and-beer sessions with my friends, and to band practice. I read a lot on this forum before I went for the Matrix Q12a. My experience with the Matrix has been positive, it´s a great piece of gear. Excellent build quality, clear and accurate sound and lots and lots of volume. In time, I felt the GAS coming on for a stereo setup - so back to the research board. My alternatives after a lot of reading up and listening to iPhone clips on YouTube (sounds familiar? :mrgreen) - came down to this:

• Matrix GT1000FX with 2x NL12s or NL212s
  • 2x Atomic CLR active wedges