1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Post Your Axe-Fx III Rigs Here!

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by yek, Mar 23, 2018.

  1. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,827
    Likes Received:
    22,390
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Note: I made a stupid mistake when doing some forum housekeeping. I deleted the previous Post-Your-Rig thread by accident and it cannot be recovered. I humbly apologize, especially to the members who posted in that thread.

    Bring on your Axe-Fx III pics (again)!
     
    dukemcrae and Severed like this.
  2. MrGuitarabuse

    MrGuitarabuse
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    1,838
    Location:
    China/Hong Kong
    No harm done for sure. I bet those pesky early wait list people cannot wait to show off their new units again ;)
     
  3. Sharka

    Sharka
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    461
    Location:
    (filthy dirty) New York City
    I extend that apology to those that have joined my waiting list so see my rig.

    *** Image coming soon ***
     
    MrGuitarabuse and xrist04 like this.
  4. #4 Rane, Mar 24, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2018
    Rane

    Rane
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    222
    I just finished reworking my power conditioner/breakout panel in anticipation of the Axe III. I'm also purchasing a 4u SKB Roto rack to go along with it.

    Here's what I've got so far:

    [​IMG]

    I'm hoping the Liquid Foot will get an update soon to handle the III's new sysex features. I emailed FAMC support the other day and received the following response:

    Fingers crossed for an update some time in the near future. :)
     
    Paul Abell, iaresee and Sharka like this.
  5. cobbler

    cobbler
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,432
    Likes Received:
    4,456
    Location:
    The desert
    I think I am going to build a wooden enclosure to house the III and keep her on the desk so there she sits at home all naked.


    [​IMG]
     
  6. iaresee

    iaresee
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10,917
    Likes Received:
    9,910
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    @Rane love that roller wheel continuous controller. I should invest in one or two of those.
     
    Rane likes this.
  7. iaresee

    iaresee
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10,917
    Likes Received:
    9,910
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    We're in the new place. I'm buried in boxes. But the most important bits are unpacked and ready to rock. :)

     
  8. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18,587
    Likes Received:
    8,545
    Whoa! Your wife let you take over the kitchen! :)
     
    gigawatt, haffner1, Henry and 4 others like this.
  9. Callan

    Callan
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2016
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    241
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Doesn't the iii have a model of the ampeg fridge? Who needs a real one?
     
    JCBitB likes this.
  10. Roadrunner

    Roadrunner
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    522
    So Ian, this is where you cook your sounds? :eek:
     
  11. iaresee

    iaresee
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10,917
    Likes Received:
    9,910
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Dammit, guys. I can't have an office that looks like a kitchen. Now I have to sell this place and start all over again. :(
     
  12. Rex

    Rex
    Expand Collapse
    Legend!

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    18,587
    Likes Received:
    8,545
    Nah, keep it. Those P-lam desktops are rugged and will hold up well.

    Get rid of the frying pans though. Oh, wait...those are Tannoys. :)
     
    iaresee likes this.
  13. Rane

    Rane
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    222
    Yeah, it's a pretty cool little pedal. I usually attach it to the amp gain modifier. It's actually not continuous. It's got an LED that varies in intensity to show the roller's position. It's not super accurate, but you kinda' get a feel for where the wheel is anyway. I usually keep the wheel's range of control pretty limited so as to avoid any surprises. lol
     
  14. John M

    John M
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    52
    032618-1.jpg
     
  15. Brucegregori

    Brucegregori
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    172
    Location:
    United States
    nice
     
  16. Chad Beattie

    Chad Beattie
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    261
    Photo Mar 27, 12 41 41 AM.jpg

    Just gutted the XL+ out of the rack and re-did it all tonight...

    Gator 4U Audio Rack - Powered Rolling (GRR-4PL-US). The handle works great and rolls really well. Except over cables laying around on stage. :0 Overall, very happy with it. Pretty much like rolling around luggage in an airport. The front and back lids have plenty of room to leave the Shure PSM antenna plugged in.

    Fairly simple setup:
    AXE-FX Output 1: FOH or QSC K10 monitor (depending on gig)
    AXE-FX Output 2: Rolls mixer inputs 5/6 for IEM Mix
    Rolls Mixer Main Stereo Outs: These go right into a Shure PSM 900

    Depending on the gig, I've done anything from run an ambient mic into the Rolls and blended with the AXE-FX for my entire monitor mix. Or can plug the output of an Aviom type system into 1/2 of the Rolls. And in other cases, I've taken mono/stereo sends from the FOH mixer back into the Rolls. Used the FOH mixer iPad app to mix the rest of the band, this goes into the Rolls, and then I blend it all in with the AxeFX signal. No matter the gig, I'm always using IEM's.

    The cables are kind of messy right now, but everything fits. I put the Shure PSM in the back. The black box with the RJ45 connection is my breakout box for the FCB1010 for bi-directional MIDI, power, and supports a momentary switch mounted on the FCB1010 for tap tempo, all going over a single ethernet connection. The breakout box has a 1/4 jack that ties into the Pedal 2 connection of the Axe FX. Below the breakout box (hard to see) are two midi mergers with bluetooth MIDI connected. It merges both incoming and outgoing MIDI between the Axe-FX, FCB1010, and Yamaha MD-BT01 bluetooth adapter. I use Fracpad (via iPad/iPhone) for tweaking patches during sound check and not having to run back to the Axe FX. If I change a scene on the 1010, Fracpad updates accordingly along with the Axe, if I change something via Fracpad, 1010 and Axe update. So works really well. Also can put Fracpad into the mode where it shows all the stomp boxes/amps. Cool to see it update when you change scenes and what not on the 1010. Of course, all of that was using the XL+. Will have to see how things pan out regarding official iOS app, or Fracpad updates, etc...

    The only thing left I am going to do is bring the most frequently used connections on the Axe and Rolls to a patch panel. So I'm not reaching all the way into the rack and fumbling with connections. The III being a bit shallower really helped. Otherwise I don't think this all would have went into the same 4U rack I was using for my XL+.

    Until the official FC-6/FC-12 pedals come out, I will have to see how much of the EurekaPROM will work (if at all) on the III. Worse case, I will pop the stock chip back in, and do basic scene changes, tap tempo, expression pedals, and use one way midi.

    Photo Mar 27, 12 43 34 AM.jpg
     
  17. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,827
    Likes Received:
    22,390
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Perhaps you can ditch the Rolls. Use an Input pair on the III to receive the mix signal and send your guitar+mix via an Output to the Shure.
     
  18. Paul Abell

    Paul Abell
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    what rack unit are you using for you I/O? Nice setup!
     
  19. iaresee

    iaresee
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    10,917
    Likes Received:
    9,910
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    It's a old Vafam Sound panel. No longer available.
     
    Paul Abell and Rick like this.
  20. #20 Rick, Mar 27, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2018
    Rick

    Rick
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3,703
    Likes Received:
    2,843
    Location:
    Fractalonia, Texas, USA
    I posted this in another thread, but wanted to post it here as a compact idea for gigging. The Furman PL-Pro DMC is above, the Axe FX III below, and the Vafam patch bay mounted on the rear rack rails just to bring all the connections where I can see them on a dark stage. The stand is a Quiklok foldable heavy duty stand that sets up just an inch to each side wider than the RCF NX12SMA monitor below, meaning there is essentially no floor space needed other than the monitor already required. I don't even remove the monitor from it's cover, just fold the lid open and go. The speaker itself has two angles it can be set on, depending on how far I am from it, and can be stand mounted if needs be on very wide stages.

    It's sturdy, compact, and sets up quickly. Been using it for years now (except the newest addition, the III) and it's certainly proven itself on the road.
    Axe FX III.jpg
     

Share This Page