1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Possible to make Axe word clock slave to recording interface when recording via USB?

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by bassface, Aug 3, 2015.

  1. bassface

    bassface
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    After a bunch of reading I still can't suss this out:

    If I'm recording via USB, is there a way to set the Axe to slave off my Metric Halo ULN-8's clock?

    Ideally I'd like to go: Axe analog ins --> USB --> Mac --> DAW, with ULN-8 being master clock.

    I'd also be happy going: Axe analog ins --> USB --> Mac --> ULN8 --> DAW (with ULN-8 being master clock).

    Do I need to incorporate an AES cable?


    If it's not possible to do either of the above, what are my best setup options where I can use the the ULN-8 clock as master? I'd like to be able to run 2 wet and 2 dry channels to my DAW...


    Thanks !
     
  2. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,937
    Likes Received:
    85,456
    Set Word Clock to SPDIF/AES In. Connect a cable from the ULN-8 to AES In or SPDIF In. Set SPDIF/AES Select to appropriate input used.
     
    bassface likes this.
  3. bassface

    bassface
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, got it.

    Now, with the AES cable connected and those settings correct, do I still need to treat AFX & Metric Halo as an aggregate device in my audio setup, and in Logic do I choose the aggregate or just ULN-8 as output/input device?

    Thanks again !
     
  4. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,937
    Likes Received:
    85,456
    Sorry, no idea. I'm a Windows guy.
     
    GotMetalBoy likes this.
  5. flyingfadr

    flyingfadr
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,667
    Likes Received:
    487
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Fl.
    Yes, aggregate device, as this creates the inputs / ouputs for both, but combines them into 1 virtual interface.
     
    bassface likes this.
  6. #6 bassface, Aug 10, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2015
    bassface

    bassface
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you. Do I employ drift correction on the AFX?
     
  7. Jean-Pierre Brunod

    Jean-Pierre Brunod
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Rome, Italy, Italy
    If you sync the sample rate (axe-fx as slave, or master) using AES / SPDIF, there is no need to use the drift parameter in the interface aggregation!
     
    PacoCasanovas and bassface like this.

Share This Page