Phone dial tone - is this possible?

Discussion in 'AX8 Preset Exchange' started by Tplesko, Aug 11, 2017.

  1. Tplesko

    Tplesko
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    Hi all, do you remember the phone dial tone (like a rotary phone dial tone when someone is calling someone - think the end of Floyd's Dirty Woman - beep...beep). Is it possible to come close to that tone using an AX8? Any ideas?

    I have tried the Roland GR55 route and it's too much footwork for me to enjoy a gig, so I am going AX8 and nothing more. Getting close using Synth or pitch or whatever would be fine.

    Any suggestions or patches appreciated!

    Thanks,
     
  2. xrist04

    xrist04
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC, United States
  3. vinnyburns

    vinnyburns
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    Ashby De La Zouch. UK
    On a synth, I would just modulate the oscillator with a square wave to get that trill effect.
     
  4. ChristThePhone

    ChristThePhone
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    347
    Location:
    Germany
    And then put a bandpass behind it (400Hz-3kHz) to make it sound like a phone
     
  5. Tplesko

    Tplesko
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    I've tried to use synth with a bandpass behind it and I am not finding luck....it sounds like the standard Fractal synth tones to me....not sure what I am doing wrong. I've tried it with and without amp/cab inline and parallel. Any ideas are welcome! Thanks all,
     
  6. h.c.e.

    h.c.e.
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    383
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Something like the attached patch get you near where you want to be?

    Short story made long, most classic phone sounds were either one or two VCO sine waves at fixed pitches, and then sometimes a square wave VCA pulsing them on or off at certain rates. Add to that a little filtering for the lofi nature of the old equipment. Should be able to get in the ballpark if not dead on with the Axe's Synth, PanTrem, and Filter blocks as I did in my little quicky demo patch there.

    Pretty much all of the actual frequencies of the tones in Hertz can be gotten quickly with some google'ing and/or wikipedia'ing... if i didn't guess right at the frequencies here, might wanna look there to see what else kind of frequencies were used. Happy phone sound hunting.
     

    Attached Files:

    Moke likes this.
  7. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
  8. #8 Moke, Aug 12, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
    Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    Here is what I came up with. Sounds pretty close to the one in Floyd's 'Young Lust'

    Having trouble getting sound clips to work? Tried two different hosts?
    http://www.tonefinder.com/index.php?section=id&value=16938

    Use switch #4 (CS1) to start and stop the sound.

    Copy and paste the blocks into your presets. Copy the settings of the 'Sequencer' controller.
     

    Attached Files:

    rushfan and cnaufel like this.
  9. simeon

    simeon
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6,230
    Likes Received:
    7,031
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    sounds like moke's done it!
     
    Moke likes this.
  10. Tplesko

    Tplesko
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    Truly amazing guys - Moke's yours is spot on, thank you! One last question and I probably should have said this earlier (sorry) - is there any way to tie it into the tone/note you are playing on the guitar?

    Thanks again guys....it's amazing what smart people can do with these things! It's nearly limitless....

    -Todd
     
  11. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    17,160
    Likes Received:
    18,620
    Location:
    Leiden @ The Netherlands
    Nicely done, Moke.
     
    rushfan and Moke like this.
  12. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    Can you be more specific?
    1. Do you want it to start when you play a certain note?
    2. Do you want to play the sound directly (with the pitch fixed or tracking your guitar's notes?)
    3. Or???????
     
  13. cnaufel

    cnaufel
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    229
    Location:
    Sao Jose dos Campos, Brazil
    You are not from this planet!! :eek::p
     
    rushfan and Moke like this.
  14. Tplesko

    Tplesko
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    Sorry, I should be more specific. #2 is what I am thinking. We are covering the song "In the Meantime", a 90s one hit wonder by Spacehog. Here is the link and the dial tone begins immediately - I believe the notes are F# - E - F#. We are trying to figure out if we should not do this at all, do it with the Fractal, or do it with a sampler. We're nitpicking, I know.

    Thanks again - much appreciated. Sorry I wasn't clear.
     
  15. Tplesko

    Tplesko
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
     
  16. #16 Moke, Aug 13, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
    Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    The synth block won't allow you to play more than one note at a time on your guitar. so you can't play that part as is. And I haven't been able to figure out a reliable way to automate this while still playing the guitar part that accompanies it. Other that using this preset in conjunction with a 'Looper' block to play the 'Synth' phrase once, alone. Then switch to another preset (with the 'Looper' block added) for the guitar sounds and start the loop.

    Try this one. Play and hold an open E (1st string) for 2 beats, rest, then an 1/8th note on the third beat. repeat....
     

    Attached Files:

    rushfan likes this.
  17. Moke

    Moke
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,751
    Likes Received:
    3,219
    Location:
    Hesperia, CA
    Attempt #2.....:D



    With this one, load the preset and be very, very quite, press the 'Looper Control' switch (#8), press the 'REC' button (#1), strike any higher note (E, 1st string?) and just let it ring.............. and then wait for it............

    Or, if you don't want to worry about staying in time with the Looper. Just load the preset, strike any higher note (E, 1st string?) and just let it ring at least half way through the phrase (It needs a pause to reset the controllers), then just keep repeating to restart the phrase when you want.
     

    Attached Files:

    Kyle.E.Woyote likes this.
  18. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,292
    Likes Received:
    1,080
    Is someone going to play the second guitar and other key parts in the song? If not matching the studio version 100%, the intro would probably work fine if you just played this:

     
    Moke likes this.
  19. simeon

    simeon
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    6,230
    Likes Received:
    7,031
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    yeah, in the heat of battle you really want the simplest and easiest solution possible.
     
    rushfan likes this.
  20. #20 ScottyB, Aug 14, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2017
    ScottyB

    ScottyB
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    'scony

    Attached Files:

Share This Page