1. Recent events require us to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug? PC reset bug on bypass state

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Bugs' started by alphahot1, Apr 9, 2018.

  1. alphahot1

    alphahot1
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    25
    Hi, it seems I've stumbled upon a bug. I read a very old thread for the ultra with the same bug.
    If I save a block with a bypassed state and pc reset on, when I select the preset via PC everything is fine (the state is restored).
    However if I had changed preset WHILE the block was in on state, I have to push the switch 3 times to activate the block. It seems like it is saving the block state (activated) even if it isn't really.
    I have to add that my midi controller does not send the off state for the buttons when a preset is selected.
    It's a bit hard to reproduce, I try to explain it with an example:
    -assing extern1 switch to a delay block bypass.
    -select pc rst on
    -ensure that the delay is bypassed
    -save the preset
    -change preset and return to the saved preset: everything is working fine.
    -turn the delay on via extern1 switch.
    -change preset and select again the first preset: delay block is correctly bypassed, however I need to push extern1 3 times to have it activated again.

    Thank you guys!
     
  2. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,878
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    alphahot1 likes this.
  3. alphahot1

    alphahot1
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    25
    Hi, thanks for your answer. I'm using a voes mc-10.
    I've already read the thread you linked, and I read it again 3 times right now LOL, from what I understand the state should be changing because I'm sending a value of 127 and the stored value is 0.
    However it seems that the value should be 5% different from whichever previous value the controller is sending... and if that's true it means that the external controller state is more "global" than what I think and not preset-based.
    This is indeed a problem for me because the controller is not sending on/off button state (I've already written a mail to Voes) and I can't have buttons state consistency between presets...
     
  4. Bakerman

    Bakerman
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,878
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    Yes, that's how it works. The source (CC) needs to change 5% from the last value sent. Here the Ext Ctrl doesn't take control until the second press, which already matches the block state (bypassed), and then it engages on 3rd press.
     
    alphahot1 likes this.
  5. alphahot1

    alphahot1
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    25
    Thanks it's cristal clear now, so my only hope is to have the controller send the on/off state on program change and not using the pc reset!
     
  6. alphahot1

    alphahot1
    Expand Collapse
    Apprentice

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    25
    In the meantime I've activated the "global" button on the Voes wich carries over the button led state on preset change, and deactivated PC RST on the modifiers. But this way I've lost the ability to configure scenes and switch effects on&off within the same preset (not a big deal because I can use song specific presets using scenes only).
     

Share This Page