Padding the AxeFX Output

brianv4

Fractal Fanatic
i run in to situations where a sound tech is asking me to turn down because the signal is too hot. I explain it's line level, pad the input.

Most recently, using a QSC Touchmix, the trim was all the way down and I was still close to clipping the board. But if I turn down output 1 I don't get enough to the CLR. (I'm using the thru on the CLR to house)

So I'm looking to get a pad to carry with me. I see in the manual the Axe output is +20 dBu so I'm considering a Whirlwind IMP Pad. They come in =10, -20, -30 and -40. I'm thinking the -20 pad would be ideal?

I haven't purchased one yet but I have from good source Radial makes one of the best direct boxes out there. They have pads at several db settings. The one recommended to me was the JDI.

Last edited:
I am still learning the Axe-FX, so excuse me if I am wrong, but why don't you copy the output 1 to output 2, send the output 1 to your CLR and the output 2 to the board. You would be able to control the outputs independently of each other and you would not have a need of a pad.

Right?

Omar

Another +1 to using both output 1 and 2 to deal with this. If you want a balanced signal to FOH from output 2 just use a DI box.

I use both outputs too. Sometimes I lower the volume in the OUT 1 global EQ by around 4 db to be able to turn the volume button a little higher. I know it's not ideal but it works for me

I use both outputs, one for main, one for my monitor. I set the main out eq level at -5db and have the output knob at 12 o'clock.

Thanks everyone! I'm aware of using both outputs (house/backline). Looking for the technical answer to my question so I'll rephrase...

If the axe outputs are +20dBu and a mixers nominal input is +4dBu, how do I calculate the difference, referenced in dB?

I use a Radial DI to convert to mic level.

http://www.radialeng.com/jdiduplex.php