1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

other 9V power adapters

Discussion in 'MFC Discussion' started by dschaaf, Sep 26, 2018.

  1. dschaaf

    dschaaf
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    46
    I just picked up a "like new" MFC-101Mark III for interim use with the Axe III until the FC's are available.

    I just received the MFC this morning and realize the seller did not include the power adapter- I have reached back out to him......can I use another 9V adapter?

    Thanks,
    D
     
  2. #2 Chris Verstappen, Sep 26, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2018
    Chris Verstappen

    Chris Verstappen
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Beerse ( Belgium )
    9 VAC 1 ampère, don’t use higher with phantom power in Axe Fx
     
  3. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7,315
    Likes Received:
    4,004
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Axe Fx III... There is no phantom power. ;)
     
    dschaaf likes this.
  4. Chris Verstappen

    Chris Verstappen
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Beerse ( Belgium )
    Ok, Had not seen that you have an Ax III. Then a 9 VAC higher than 1 amp, maybe you still have an adapter of an Intellifex / Midi Mate. you can use that.
     
    dschaaf likes this.
  5. bchulse

    bchulse
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    106
    Just looked at the Black Box adapter I use as a backup. It's rated at
    Output = 9V, 2A, Input 100-240V, 0.8A 50-60Hz (Center Positive)
    Model: SA06N09-V

    My original MFC-101 Adapter (first Gen MFC) is 9V AC, 1000mA (1A).
    It does not have a designation for center + or -.
     
    dschaaf likes this.
  6. Chris Verstappen

    Chris Verstappen
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Beerse ( Belgium )
    It must definitely be AC voltage. With AC voltage + and - does not matter, I thought. I use my Rocktron Adapters as backup. If you are not sure send an email to G66, they help you directly.
     
    dschaaf likes this.
  7. Chris Verstappen

    Chris Verstappen
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Beerse ( Belgium )
    And Faslink?
     
  8. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7,315
    Likes Received:
    4,004
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    It does NOT have to be AC. As I mentioned before, both AC and DC are supported.
     
    dschaaf likes this.
  9. unix-guy

    unix-guy
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    7,315
    Likes Received:
    4,004
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Axe Fx III uses FASLink 2 - not compatible.
     
    dschaaf likes this.
  10. Chris Verstappen

    Chris Verstappen
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2018
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Beerse ( Belgium )
    Do not understand they don’t make it compatible with phantom power,
     
  11. dschaaf

    dschaaf
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2012
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    46
    Thanks everyone! :)
     

Share This Page