Okay guys. For the love of God, critique my patches

I will spare you the far-too-old strings that are currently on my guitar and my currently sorry playing. I have been sick for the last two days and have been generally sitting around feeling sorry for myself. This has, however, given me some opportunity to work with some settings for the Axe-II. I'm a bit frustrated, as I am still pretty new to this and it seems like the rabbit hole just got a lot bigger with the 3.02 release.

So please, if you would be so kind, take a look at these presets and tell me how to make them better. Right now I feel like I'm doing everything ever-so-slightly wrong. I know that part of the issue is my current guitar, but I am also wondering if I have some I/O setting wrong. When I download presets that everyone else raves about, they sound pretty bad running through my system. So, if these presets sound awesome, I will have to start trouble-shooting to make sure I have everything set up right.

Thanks and happy tweaking,
Speculum Speculorum
(Brian Nowak)

Brian,

I can't get into them until late tomorrow; but a few questions to add context would help up front.
  • What guitar(s) do you use?
  • What is your output signal chain? (poweramp/cab/FRFR/Other?)
  • What sort of tones do you go for?
  • What do you feel is 'off' in your tones?

Right now, I'm using a fender strat with a Warmoth Neck (macassar ebony neck/fretboard), and I've got a SD JB installed in the bridge position. I'm pretty sure it's actually wired at 250k pots, which might be part of the issue. It was basically a teaching guitar that I modified when the neck went bad and wanted a bridge pickup with a little more grit to it. I can't wait until the BRJ Jekyll 727 gets here. I am, however, leaning on mostly user error, as I'm very happy with my clean tones. Very. Happy.

My signal chain is direct into Logic via USB and my monitors are Adam A7's.