1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Non-Minimum Phase IRs

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx III Discussion' started by FractalAudio, Jan 3, 2019.

  1. Tremonti

    Tremonti
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,686
    Likes Received:
    981
    Location:
    Bradenton, Florida
    These are great. They have taken over all my cab sounds. Thanks!
     
  2. Casper

    Casper
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    34
    How can I readily tell if an IR is MPT or not? Is it flagged in the name?
     
    api4u likes this.
  3. #43 brianv4, Jan 5, 2019
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2019
    brianv4

    brianv4
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,691
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    Location:
    Burlington, NJ
    would be nice if there were a way to tell by reading the name, I B U

    EDIT: referring to user cab banks
     
    api4u likes this.
  4. Brian Angiel

    Brian Angiel
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    110
    I think the stock cabs are all MPT'd by default for the purposes of mixing within the box.
     
  5. yek

    yek
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    20,444
    Likes Received:
    23,861
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes, all stock cabs are MinPhase.
     
    Brian Angiel likes this.
  6. Perdikament

    Perdikament
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    891
    Location:
    FL
    Off the top of your head, does this also hold true for most Cab Packs in the Fractal Store?
    I’m wondering if there was a certain criteria or standard that they all met prior to publishing?
     
  7. zenaxe

    zenaxe
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    1,875
    Speaking of conversion, etc: If I drop a wav on the AE cab manage tool to load it, is it MPT or raw?
     
  8. h.c.e.

    h.c.e.
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    788
    Location:
    San Francisco
    By default, if you never changed the settings, MPT.

    In AE-III go to: Settings -> Preferences... -> Cabinet Import -> IR Processing and set it to "None" if you want Raw syx conversion (there's also an option in Axe-Manage Cabs tool under the browse menu toward the bottom somewhere (not in front of axe, can't remember exact menu option for certain), but the Settings -> Preferences is the master control for that option as well.)

    In Cab-Lab 3: Settings -> Default Processing Mode -> None
     
    zenaxe and bradlake like this.
  9. DLC86

    DLC86
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Location:
    Sicilia - Italia
    In some circumstances it could be better to select auto-trim, I've noticed some IR producers leave quite a bit of silence at the beginning of the files, this would introduce a tiny bit of latency and the resolution of the IR would be lower cuz it will be cut (windowed) earlier.
     
    jakbur and AlbertA like this.
  10. Brian Angiel

    Brian Angiel
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    110
    Conversely, some IR creators specifically suggest against using auto-trim, such as OwnHammer. I'd imagine it's pretty case-by-case depending on the producer.
     
    Holyoli likes this.
  11. DLC86

    DLC86
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Location:
    Sicilia - Italia
    Definitely. Using auto trim doesn't guarantee that IRs will be aligned when mixed, while without processing they usually are if they come from the same producer.
     
    ertan likes this.
  12. King’s X - Jason

    King’s X - Jason
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2018
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    175
    Location:
    Austin, TX. Y’all
    ^^^^ I think this is an excellent idea. +1
     
    Tahoebrian5 and DLC86 like this.
  13. Matt Minaj

    Matt Minaj
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    4
    I totally agree with this one.
     
  14. bdrepko

    bdrepko
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,588
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    Interesting. I was checking out some of my Ownhammer IRs when I read the readme file in the Fractal folder. It stated the following

    The following folders contain .wav files perfectly prepared for
    conversion to the Fractal Audio Systems derivative format types.

    These .wav files are 200 ms in length and NOT minimum phase transformed
    so as to avoid cascading processing by FAS conversion software.

    Conversion to Fractal Audio Systems formats requires Fractal Audio System's
    conversion utility. For more information on loading or converting files, please
    see the Fractal Audio Systems website and documentation.
     
  15. shatteredsquare

    shatteredsquare
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    862
    Then why does ~140 millimetres always give a sweet spot when using even a single IR? It's super subtle, almost imperceptible, but spending 20 minutes scrolling from 0 to 340, 140mm going back to 0 takes the magic away, it's hard to really even hear it do anything different, maybe it's just notching my favorite 500hz mid band. I guess it's got a fixed mix ratio with the dry signal maybe cause I can definitely tell a difference when using a single IR, it's subtle but I guess fractions of a millimetre would be...
     
  16. 200man

    200man
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    439
    Why were all the IRs transformed from raw IR responses to MPT types originally?
    Was this soley for the purpose of making it easier to mix multiple IRs?
     
  17. shatteredsquare

    shatteredsquare
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    862
    so you don't have to mess with mic distance, just add some together and they are already more or less lined up right
     
    Larz and 200man like this.
  18. iaresee

    iaresee
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11,697
    Likes Received:
    11,069
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Yes.
     
    200man likes this.
  19. Perdikament

    Perdikament
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,022
    Likes Received:
    891
    Location:
    FL
    Okay now for the next big debate, what’s everyone’s feelings on which wav file resolution to pick when converting; 96/24/500 or just start right off with 48/24/200?
     
  20. DLC86

    DLC86
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    1,123
    Location:
    Sicilia - Italia
    Shouldn't make much of a difference, axe-edit and cab-lab automatically convert/trim the IRs when importing them into the axe.

    I usually just keep the higher resolution and delete others
     
    Perdikament and shatteredsquare like this.

Share This Page