NGSD

Phostenix

Power User
OK, it was actually yesterday, but I didn't get a chance to play with my new guitar synth until last night & a little this morning.

I picked up a new Roland GR-55 to continue my efforts to simplify my rig & so far I'm impressed.

BTW, I bought it from Musician's Friend and the unit was manufactured in October of last year (!). So much for new stock.... I had to update the firmware to the version that came out in June of this year (which went without a hitch).

I've been using a GR-20 for about 10 years mostly for bass & string sounds. What I really want from the GR-55 (over the GR-20) is the acoustic & electric guitar modeling so that I can use one guitar to get all acoustic and all electric guitars sounds (including 12 string & alternate tunings). I don't plan to use the amp models or effects on the GR-55, but it makes a nice backup to the Axe, if needed, that I will already have with me.

With a little tweaking, I've got the acoustic sounding pretty good. Better than my current piezos & a tone match block (I'm sure that could be improved with a different TM). I'm very happy with the modeled Strat pickups. I was afraid that I would be disappointed with them, but they are very useable. I didn't have time to try the Les Paul, Rickenbacker, Danelectro, etc. models yet.

My hope is to have 1 guitar (my favorite Strat) with the GR-55 & the Axe-FX II to do everything I want to do. So far it sounds promising. I'm trying to plan out the routing & control stuff now.

nice! I've heard some great demos of the GR-55. I still have my GR-20 and mainly use it for string pads too. Enjoy the new toy

I have an old GR-30. What I do is turn it on Poly mode and use an M-audio Midi keyboard and add sounds to tracks or through a looper for real low ambient noises. It's fun to jam to them live.