Newbie question.. filtering out lows and highs on different effects/amp/cab

zecure

Inspired
Guys,

Am a bit unexperienced in filtering out lows and highs in the sound chain. I read a lot about it on internet and it looks like to get a sound right you can put low cuts at about 100hz and high cuts in the upper end of the range.
Also with filter and eq, one can boost some mids to make the guitar sound better in a live environment

I have noticed in the Axe fx II that you can do that in the amp and cab part but also in the effects like delay, reverb, flanger, phaser etc etc...

What is the best way to do it.. everywhere? or just in amp and/or cab block or in 1 effect?...

What kind of filtering and eq ing do you use most with your axe? Obviously the human ear and the kind of guitar one plays with is also key in this process.

Happy to hear your thoughts and tx in advance

zecure

I am new to the AXE, but it respond like a standard signal chain. It is amp/cab/effect dependent. You are right the guitar and the destination result determine much. 'Where' and 'what' you cut/boost depends on what needs it. For instance, anytime I dial in a perfect amp tone but then add a drive block, I need to adjust that drive block accordingly. Some drives add boomyness, some add mid-range focus, some add top end sizzle etc... In those instance I cut/boost/eq at the drive (In other words I won't mess with my fundamental amp tone). If I add delay and I find the 'repeats' to be 'thin/boomy', I can adjust the delay EQ to get a fuller, clearer, sweeter tone (or the opposite if I want vintage tape degrdation. Some choruses or reverbs can be washed out. Cleaning up the low end with cuts/eq can add clarity to the effect. Some are thin, so etc.. I cut/boost at the source of the problem frequency. I personally start with amp first, then comp, then drives, then modulation etc...just as if it were a live effect chain. That works for me. I hope that helps! Cheers.