Newbie owner - first impressions

adew

Inspired
This "review" thread is aimed at people who are about to take the leap and buy an Axe FXII, and for those in the very early stages of ownership. Seasoned Axe pros will probably just smile fondly, and get a little misty-eyed remembering their own Axe baby-steps... :)

Background
I've been playing guitar for 30+ years, the majority of this time spent in originals bands ranging from 80's indie, pop-rock, hard rock to modern alt. rock. I've generally always used tube amps, and for the last few years have exclusively used Dual Rectifiers and LP's/ESP Eclipses loaded with EMGs. Yes, I like it heavy and dirty, but I'm not a metal player.

However, I'm not entirely new to modelling and non-trad gear, having owned and used a GP-8 for a while when it first came out, to a Pod HD Pro in my home studio a few years ago, a Vox Tonelab LE, and more recently a short period of Eleven Rack ownership. So, I have no bias regarding the technology. I'm just interested in sounding the best I can.

Like many others, I got fed up with lugging a head and 4x12 around. Plus, in many of the places I play, bands are expected to share backline or even use supplied backline - which is never satisfying as a player. The short period of owning an Eleven Rack proved to me that the modeller/FRFR route is perfectly do-able, though I felt, ultimately, that the 11R wasn't for me, hence the big decision to buy the Axe FXII.

In diary format, here's my story so far...

Day One
  • Packages arrive from G66, complete with box of choccies and personalised letter (nice touch guys).
  • Plug it in, hook up headphones and then spend about 3 hours scrolling through the presets.
  • Far too much time spent playing with ambient presets that I would never use live in a million years - but which are so much fun to play - especially those with pitch-shifting, etc. Great fun!