1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

NEW USER- CAN I USE THE INPUT IN THE BACK OF THE FRACTAL?

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by jmconnected1, Jan 11, 2015.

  1. jmconnected1

    jmconnected1
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    I AM USING A RACK LINE 6 WIRELESS UNIT. INSTEAD OF RUNNING A CABLE FROM THE BACK TO THE FRONT OF THE RIG, CAN I RUN THIS THROUGH THE BACK OF THE FRACTAL OR WILL THAT EFFECT TONE OR SOMETHING WORSE?

    Thank you.
     
  2. svl

    svl
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    884
    Location:
    Chicago
  3. jmconnected1

    jmconnected1
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    ok. thanks
     
  4. BrainalLeakage

    BrainalLeakage
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    898
    Likes Received:
    416
    Location:
    Conroe Tx
    My bassist uses the Right Rear, and I use the front (which is wired to the Left).
     
  5. Scottckr

    Scottckr
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Falun, Sweden
    Yup, I'm using the rear input for my wireless, works great, did a lot of A/B-ing to see if it really sounded worse than the front input and I couldn't hear any difference so I went with it.
     
  6. wcfieldskx

    wcfieldskx
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Sask, Canada
    No audible difference to me either....
     
  7. brianv4

    brianv4
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    1,183
    Location:
    Burlington, NJ
    +1 I run my wireless into the rear input. Works/sounds great. In the studio I use the front input but I've never a/b'd the front and rear.
     
  8. FractalAudio

    FractalAudio
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Fractal Audio Systems Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12,937
    Likes Received:
    85,456
    The front input has a better SNR but if you are using a wireless the better SNR of the front input won't be noticeable since the noise of the wireless will dominate.
     
    pjrake, Dino334 and daveywoodford like this.
  9. Dino334

    Dino334
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Finally a definitive answer from the man himself. Thanks Cliff! I Use the front for home and studio and the rear for wireless too. Always had it in my mind that I was missing out somehow by using the rear input with my wireless. Yea, it's an ocd thing, but most of us musicians are that way. Now I actually feel 100% ok about using the rear input with my wireless. Your words mean a lot to us Cliff & Matt! Thanks again!
     
  10. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Axe-Master

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    5,112
    Likes Received:
    5,546
    Its pretty easy to just run a cable around to the front, with a right angle jack so its flush. Don't "need" to per say, but its quite easy to do so. If you look at the Edge's latest rack, he has all four of his Axe units using the front input.

    I have a Line 6 G55 in my rack, and its certainly just as easy to go into the rear, and truth be told, I heard no difference, but just run a cable around to the front for the heck of it. When I'm playing at home I just unplug that one and use a regular cable. Keeps things simple as otherwise I'd have to go in and change the input routing whenever I did that.

    Again, if it was difficult to use the front input, maybe I wouldn't, but as it stands, its just as simple to patch from my wireless to the rear, as it is to patch from my wireless, under the Axe as there is a little gap between the unit and the bottom of my Gator rack, and then into the front input.
     

Share This Page