New to the Party!

Kidmag

I just purchased the AX8 and obviously I'm very excited! I'm saying hi to and want to thank the forum and contributors as I recognize what a great resource you all are, and want to say thanks for what I've derived already in my research.

I'm pretty new to the modeling game, but have some experience with digital effects (Nova System, and TC Helicon VL3). I currently use the VL3 in my cover band (80's to current alternative stuff) for vocal effects and and some guitar effects. I run a few stomp boxes (digitech whammy, Zvex Box of Rocks, Keeley-Boss BD-2) into the VL3 (chorus, delay & reverb) then out to the front end of two guitar amps (Dr. z-28, Marshall JVM205H) that are set pretty cleanly. This set-up is pretty decent but leaves many things to be desired. Sadly I much prefer the BD-2 overdrive to my Marshall's preamp all day long. Very sad state of affairs. I'm not a metal guy so lower end of the distortion spectrum is probably my happy base, and with good fuzzes for solo's.

Anyway, with the AX8 I'm really hoping to accomplish 3 things.
1. Improve tone
2. Reduce my pedal dancing while increasing the complexity of my changes in tone and effects options, and
3. keep the pedal footprint small and carry one less guitar amp.

I'm planning to run full amp/cab models in the AX8 to the FOH, and direct line (minus, power and cab simulation) to the front end of either the Z-28 or JVM. I will try out each, but hope the smaller Z-28 works best. I hope this will allow me to have pretty decent base amp sound simulations (Vox / Fender / Marshall), great effects (whammy, drives, phase, flange, chorus, delays, reverbs). I know the regular guitar amp will be a little limiting, but we'll see how it goes! Maybe one day I'll recover from all my purchases lately to buy a legit FRFR backline solution.

Btw -I'm not usually this long winded...(thumbs up).

Any tips or suggestions always welcomed. Thanks!

Welcome to the machine.

Objective 1 - Done.