New Mix-test with Axe-fx II and SD 2.0

Hey guys,

As always, this forum has been a wonderful place where I can collect information from a bunch of dudes who know way, way, WAY more about the Axe systems than I do. I wanted to share this mix with you guys/gals and see what you thought about the whole product. There's no bass guitar in the mix as it is being repaired/replaced (as is explained in the link).

The amps used were the HBE and Das Metall - there's more information at the soundcloud link. I hope you all dig it. Any advice, constructive criticism, and kind words are much appreciated!

riff rock mix without bass guitar by Speculum Speculorum on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

Well, I gave it a listen and decided there were some things with the drums I did not like.

Since I'm new to SD 2.0 I was using a mix of the SD 2.0 mixer and Logic mixing. I was using multi-out but this combo was pretty much destroying my sound. I screwed around a bit this morning and will upload a new mix this evening when I'm home from work. It sounds a lot warmer and all the drums speak a lot more.

Sounds better than most SD 2.0 mixes I've heard... Great job... Your track sounds almost exactly like Sleeping Beauty from A Perfect Circle...

Alright dudes and dudettes,

I messed around with levels, reverbs, etc. and have come to what I believe is a much better mix for this particular little ditty. The biggest thing was working with a transient designer on the snare and overheads, and changing some compression settings for the drum bus and output signal to make things a little more transparent and happy. This has been a good learning experience, and I will be moving onto new and better things now. Thanks if you give it a listen!

Riff rock mix no bass v4 by Speculum Speculorum on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free