1. We would like to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

New Midicontroller Voes MC-series

Discussion in 'Other MIDI Controllers' started by voes, Mar 13, 2017.

  1. lauke-lux

    lauke-lux
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    France - Montauban
    CC on/off if I remember well, not close to mine. But why not use the SCENE commands ?
     
    voes and alphahot1 like this.
  2. alphahot1

    alphahot1
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    31
    Thanks mate, yes I know about cc on/off, and I do use scenes.
    The problem is using scenes AND individual effects (stompboxes). Without bi-directional communication and per-preset configuration, you and up with all kinds of inconsistencies, so I was asking for some ideas... maybe using scenes for the main effects (like drive, delay etc.) and "CC on only" on page 2 activate less used effects? Then the effects on page 2 could be turned off selecting the scene again (using "scene revert" option on the axe). What do you think?
    BTW I'll be glad if describe your scenes configuration, I'm still trying to find the best way to organize my controller.

    Thanks!
    Regards
     
  3. lauke-lux

    lauke-lux
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    France - Montauban
    I only use scenes 1 to 6 on page 1, exp1/2, preset up, preset down and page 1/2. Page 2 is dedicated to looper controls, tap tempo, tuner, exp1/2 and page 2/1.
    If you use only 4 scenes you have 2 switches left for direct CC controls like for example Boost and Drive etc...
    Can send you my config once back home tomorrow.
    Keep on rocking
     
  4. lauke-lux

    lauke-lux
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    France - Montauban
    BTW I don't use PC commands as all I need is either in song patches either in a few all round patches I can easily dial up from the Axe fx front UI.
     
  5. alphahot1

    alphahot1
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    31
    Hi, thanks for your description. I'm elaborating a similar solution... can you elaborate on how do you use your 6 scenes for? Maybe the scenes are tailored for specific songs? Like intro, verse, chorus, solo, etc?
     
  6. lauke-lux

    lauke-lux
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    France - Montauban
    Exactly that, I rarely use over 4 scenes. So 5/6 are mostly available for "effects or other artifices". We mostly do our own stuff, so mostly use one patch per song, hence a few standard patches for cover stuff. Can gig with around 30 patches. As the MC10 doesn't have a song list option....best is to order things in the Axe Fx in order of the setlist.

    BTW don't forget to click here; in preparation of some album we actually produce...just for kicks...
     
    Brucegregori and alphahot1 like this.
  7. Brucegregori

    Brucegregori
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    United States
    Wow nice....does one work better the AXE III?
     
    voes likes this.
  8. alphahot1

    alphahot1
    Expand Collapse
    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    31
    Nice job with the song! And thanks a lot for the useful insight!!

    I also want to add that I had a little bug with the led on/off status using scenes, and voes released a firmware upgrade in 1 day to solve it!
    Amazing support!!
     
    voes and Brucegregori like this.
  9. Brucegregori

    Brucegregori
    Expand Collapse
    Inspired

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    United States
    Cool vibe man,,,
     
  10. ZenRigs Man

    ZenRigs Man
    Expand Collapse
    Forum Addict

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Location:
    Northumberland, UK
    If the spacing is the same, then they should work. From the picture, it doesn't look like the lights are spaced the same as on the AX8 though, which could be an issue = but I don't have one to test out against though
     
    alphahot1 likes this.
  11. Roberto Marra

    Roberto Marra
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Italy
    But There's only 2 pages on the mc 10?
     
  12. voes

    voes
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    Belgium - Europe
    Yes. Beside the fact that memory won't allow more than 2 pages, it would get complicated to remember all the page settings IMHO.
     
  13. Gabrieldisa

    Gabrieldisa
    Expand Collapse
    New here

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Bacau Romania
    I have the mc 5jr for the ax8 and it's awesome. Now i need the mc10 for axe fx2
     
    VHDon and voes like this.
  14. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    3,857
    Likes Received:
    3,783
    After seeing a few videos with the preset name and scene names displaying I’m quite interested in one of these but have a couple of questions.

    As I understand it, there are two pages of controls, so essentially 20 assignable buttons, and you can switch between pages ? Or, is it just that each button can have a second function on press and hold ? I’m not real clear how that works, and how you get around the layout....

    Here is what I would really like control wise, so maybe let me know if it’s possible;

    I’d like to have buttons for direct access of all 8 scenes, or at least 5 scenes minimum. Press the button, the scene is selected and the scene name displays.

    I’d like to have two buttons then for preset up/down, so I change those as needed, and the preset name is displayed.

    I’d then also like easy access to the looper controls. I’d be okay with dedicating a button to this even if it means I have only 7 scenes or whatever.

    What I want/need to happen is when I select the looper button, I want the switches assigned for play, record, stop etc, so essentially a way to access a second set, or bank, of assignments, AND I’d like to be able to toggle back and forth between scene switches and looper control pages.

    I may be mistaken but I don’t think the long press control would work well for looper controls, because I don’t want to press and hold, say scene 5, and have it engage that scene, instead of the looper if I don’t press and hold long enough etc, this is why I think a “toggle” switch to change pages of the controller would work well for me.

    Last bit not least, could an additional midi unit be hooked up to the mc10, like a mc5 jr, or Tech21 etc, which I could then program as a dedicated looper controller, allowing the Mc10 to do just scenes and preset changes ?
     
  15. voes

    voes
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    Belgium - Europe
    You can access the buttons of page 2 in two ways:

    • for each button apart by press-and-holding the button
    • set a button as Page button. This way all buttons will change to Page 2 (or 1). If you set this page button on for example on button 10 press-and-hold (thus on page 2) you still have button 10 on page 1 free for other functions.
    Here are two possible solutions:

    Solution 1:
    button 1-4 scene 1-4 on normal press, scene 5-8 on press-and-hold
    button 6-9 looper
    button 5-10 preset down/up, tuner on button 10 press-and-hold

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Solution 2:
    On request of Marco Fanton, we have included a special press-and-hold command, block page. This will switch only a part of the buttons when a page button is pressed.

    button 1-4 and 5-8 scene 1-8 on normal press
    button 5 preset down, page press-and-hold
    button 10 preset up, tuner on press-and-hold

    When page is selected, button 6-9 are now looper buttons. button 1-4 stay on scene 1-4

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Of course there are many other ways to accomplish this.

    You are correct about that. Press-and-hold won't work in a looper situation because the button needs time to engage the button on page 2

    Only when you use a Midi merger.
     
  16. funkstation777

    funkstation777
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    932
    Location:
    Austria
    Can't wait to get my MC-5jr....Hope, it arrives till Friday, so I can use it for the gig on Saturday.
     
    voes likes this.
  17. lqdsnddist

    lqdsnddist
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Messages:
    3,857
    Likes Received:
    3,783
    Thank you for taking the time to provide such an in depth response. Very well thought out product with lots of customization ability and a great price point.

    I’ll be looking forward to placing an order
     
    voes and Toopy14 like this.
  18. funkstation777

    funkstation777
    Expand Collapse
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    932
    Location:
    Austria
    It's here. Built like a tank, and already programmed as scene controller (1-5) with my Axe FxII XL. Thanks a lot. Ultrafast delievery.
     

    Attached Files:

    voes likes this.

Share This Page