Need some help using the FX8 in the effects loop of my Mesa Mark V 25

PaulC

Inspired
I am new to using an effects loop and have some questions about getting the levels set.

The issue is that the amp doesn't have a separate Send control and uses the master controls to adjust the sends. From the manual:
"Use the Front Panel MASTER controls to adjust the SEND Level of the two preamp Channels and reach the desired output (send) strength, keeping in mind that clean sounds are more dynamic and produce quicker dynamic peaks than more compressed high gain sounds. So use your ears as well as any INPUT LEDs on your processors for balancing SEND Levels, as the lights may not tell the whole story. If you don’t hear any clipping on your clean sounds, the levels are likely fine even though the LEDs may show more signal strength in on the clean sounds."

So I adjust the master volume until the inputs on the Status page of the FX8 are at a good level and my question is how do I adjust the master output volume of the amp now? Seems the only way I can figure out is to adjust the Output Post of the FX8 to return to the Amp FX loop. But it seems to me this may clip the effects return to get the amp at a high enough volume. It may be that this is how this effects loop is supposed to work but not specified in the manual.

I did see a "Out Post" page with EQ and gain settings in the FX8 which is likely there for adjusting the return level back to the amp globally. I tried it and it didn't seem to change the volume enough to so I am not sure it is meant for this. But still not sure this is how to adjust the amps overall volume.

Am I missing something here (likely)? I haven't had the chance to get try it loud yet but wanted to get some advice if this is the way to go.

Thanks for any insight.

If you're worried about clipping your amp's return level, don't be. If you're anywhere near clipping, you'll be hitting the power amp hard, and it'll be wickedly loud.