1. Recent events require us to remind our members that this is a privately owned, run and supported forum. You are here at the invitation and discretion of the owners. As such, rules and standards of conduct will be applied that help keep this forum functioning as the owners desire. These include, but are not limited to, removing content and even access to the forum.

    Please give yourself a refresher on the forum rules you agreed to follow when you signed up.
    Dismiss Notice

Need Help: A Consideration For The Axe Preset Exchange

Discussion in 'Axe-Fx II Discussion' started by Brian Greco, Jun 13, 2018 at 12:07 PM.

  1. Brian Greco

    Brian Greco
    Expand Collapse
    Rookie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Helloooooo everyone,

    I have been very busy making heavy metal presets lately. I would like to upload them to Axe Exchange when I'm finished, but I noticed that one of the presets has a cabinet that comes from Redwirez, and is not included in the Axe FX library as a stock cabinet. My concern is that if a user uploads the file and they don't have that exact cabinet in there library, the entire tone will change.

    Is my thinking correct on this? If so, would I need to convert my .syx file (the preset) into a .wav file and then back to a .syx file again so everything is in there?

    Thank you for your guidance.
     
  2. sskkmm

    sskkmm
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Annandale, VA
    When sharing presets I always throw in a stock cab with a note that it was made/designed with a specific cab...just pick something close and let folks know!
     
  3. Brian Greco

    Brian Greco
    Expand Collapse
    Rookie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for your reply, sskkm. If I do that, it will definitely compromise the sound and most of all the settings will have to be re-tweaked,
    which as you know will take a very long time . I wish there were another way around this.
     
  4. jefferski

    jefferski
    Expand Collapse
    Fractal Fanatic

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    946
    Location:
    Wasatch Mts, Utah
    Just about everyone will have to tweak somewhat anyway - they don't have the same guitar, monitors, fingers, or anything else as you do. So like sskkmm said, just replace with a cab that's close and add a note.
     
    sskkmm likes this.
  5. Brian Greco

    Brian Greco
    Expand Collapse
    Rookie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, I guess you guys are right. Once you said, ‘everyone will have to tweak anyway,’ it made sense.
    Thank you sskm and jefferski for your guidance on this matter.

    You guys rock :cool:
     
    jefferski likes this.
  6. sskkmm

    sskkmm
    Expand Collapse
    Motivated

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Annandale, VA
    Heh. Not a problem. I can just tell you that by far most of the presets on the 'change don't work for me out of the box - different guitars, different touch...

    I liken it to the fact that I could send you my amp and pedalboard - all set and tweaked for a song - and it prob won't be more than 30 sec and you would be reaching for a knob on a pedal or on the amp... ;)
     
  7. Brian Greco

    Brian Greco
    Expand Collapse
    Rookie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
     
  8. Brian Greco

    Brian Greco
    Expand Collapse
    Rookie

    Joined:
    May 8, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yeah, I pretty much feel the same. When I first got the AXE FX II, I expected the presets for the popular amps to be more spot on. I guess I just got this idea from looking at YouTube over and over again. LOL
    I had no idea that I’d be doing this much tweaking, but I don’t mind right now. It becomes an art after a while, I hope I just don’t get sick of it. LOL

    Yeah, you’re probably right. If you did send me your set up, I might start tweaking little things here and there. Good point. My hope is that the presets I post at least translate well when I downloaded by other users.

    Yesterday, I went to town and bought $65 worth of IRs. I had a good amount already, but I wanted some higher quality ones that had similar characteristics to the real cabs . After intensely reviewing IRs for a week, I actually ended up going with 3 Sigma Audio. As you know, there are so many companies out there, but I want to stick to the well-known ones. Two of Rosen Digitals’ main guys are now at 3SA, so those were some points for 3SA. I have the Red Wirez Big Box for a couple of years now, but I’m not so happy with it when used with the Axe Fx. I also have several expansive packs from other companies, but my IR journey officially ends with 3SA’s version of the Bogner Uberkab 412, Engl 412, EVH 5150 III 412, Friedman 412, Laney 412 and Zilla 412. The metal classics. Although I have some Mesa IRs already, I am MAY pick up the Mesa Oversized Rec 412, but I’m not sure. You do get a 20% discount if you buy six or more packs from 3SA, which is pretty cool.

    Anyway, I guess this brings me to my point which is that I’ll probably be uploading less and less stuff to the exchange because I’ll be using more impulse responses. I will try though to use the stock cabinets and he EQ them the best I can so I can post a few presets every now and then.
     
    sskkmm likes this.

Share This Page