Need advice

RockerAlex

Inspired
First of all, yes I've used the search bar and read a LOT of different opinions ... I'm swamped in them and it's far too much for a newb to take in so I decided to make my own post.

To keep this post short and simple I basically have a choice, for financial reasons, between GOOD studio monitors (for not just playing the Axe through but for being able to make a more professional mix in the house as well as just for better quality listening purposes) or GOOD FRFR speakers solely for the Axe FX as I gig regularly and have decided to ditch the real cab (was pushed over the edge by the new OH IRs!)

Perhaps I am just ignorant on the subject (as I'm new to the whole FRFR world and what's available to me) but am I wrong in thinking there isn't a product out there that covers both for me? It certainly sounds very strange to me listening to/mixing/ music on speakers designed to be floor wedges.

Advice anyone?

RA, Im just going through the process of vetting various signal chain options/choices as I get to know the Axe. My basic setup right now is running through an OK to decent pair of studio monitors or headphones for the quiet hours. Certainly a workable home set up. A couple of weeks back I rented a power amp and tried this with various monitors and guitar cabs I have and was very pleased. Right now I'm in the midst of auditioning active monitors and am trying out the QSC KW122's. Bottom line is this is a whole new level of Axe love! I am able to hear whole new levels of detail and nuance, brilliant! Certainly for my purposes the QSC's would be perfect doubling as studio monitors and I did test them with a variety of sources including Logic source files. Relative to what I have big improvement. I will not for a moment claim to be making professional level mixes but for me there is no reason I couldn't settle on the FRFR speakers as my sole monitoring option.