Need Advice : GM50 and guiat cab for Standard

Hi All,
I am returning to these forums after a hiatus of 5 years. I initially tried the Axe-FX standard with some small monitors (6 inch KRKs) and quickly lost interest - understandably no fault of the AxeFx.

I've been going through posts and have realized that what I was missing is a power amp and a cab. I;ve browsed through many posts discussing the amp-in-the-room sound and have come to the conclusion that I will be buying a Matrix GM50 and a guitar cab and give it one more shot.

I am an out-and-out bedroom guitarist - I do not gig and neither plan to in the near or far future. Most of my playing consists of noodling around in my basement on my Vox AC10C1 with either of my 2 guitars - a Les Paul and a strat. Just to make myself clear - I have consciously opted out of the FRFR approach based on comments from Cliff as well as others.

My question is this -
1. Are there any out of the box solutions which incorporate a 1X12 guitar cab with a low powered solid state amp like a GM50.
2. Are their players who own such a rig - what is your feedback?

I could be wrong, but that I think that is pretty much what a Matrix FR12 is. I have one of those, plus an Atomic CLR Neo, Verve 12MA and Matrix amp with a THD 2 x 12 cab. IMHO, the CLR sounds best -- but it's also the most transparent so poorly tweaked presets sound bad. The Matrix is second best -- less transparent, beamier, but a good guitar tone. Amp and cab third, though tonal versatility is somewhat limited.

If you are strictly bedroom though, you should consider just getting better powered monitors. I have some Adams A5s that sound great and I can play them at lower volume than any of the preceding.

Has anyone used the EHX 44 Magnum? I was browsing the forums after posting my question, and came across good reviews of this amp.

All I need is for the poweraml to be clean and loud enough for my basement. I currently have a Vox AC10C1 and it's plenty loud for me.