Nashville Number System

stm113

Power User
Hey guys, I just started playing with the Praise & Worship band at church. They use the Nashville Number System which as far as I can tell it assigns numbers to chords based on its interval position in the key. So in the key of A,
1=A
2=B
3=C#
4=D
5=E
6=F#
7=G#.
I was told they use this because the keys of the songs need to be changed depending on who is singing that day.

Anyone here have experience with this and if so please help me understand how it's easier than chord charts. I want to do this right and be an asset. Thank you!

Hey guys, I just started playing with the Praise & Worship band at church. They use the Nashville Number System which as far as I can tell it assigns numbers to chords based on its interval position in the key. So in the key of A,
1=A
2=B
3=C#
4=D
5=E
6=F#
7=G#.
I was told they use this because the keys of the songs need to be changed depending on who is singing that day.

Anyone here have experience with this and if so please help me understand how it's easier than chord charts. I want to do this right and be an asset. Thank you!

Using scale degrees instead of letter names makes it easier to transpose to different keys. Often in the studio the producer or singer might want to try multiple keys. The number charts don't have to be rewritten.

There is a lot more to the NNS besides the numbers for chords. The notation will let you write out a complicated complete arrangement on a single page of paper.

Very compact.

I bought this book: Really a great way to learn it if you aren't doing lot's of sessions in Nashville. http://www.nashvillenumbersystem.com/

If you Google it, there are tons of free docs and tutorials too.

Thank you. I supposing jus to going to have to retrain myself. Last night when I got the charts I cheated and wrote out the chords, is that bad?